Range / Head to head
Revision StingerHawk vs Sawfly: the same clause-cited rating, three real differences
Revision is the one maker in this category that cites both standards by clause number. So the choice between its two issued frames is not about the rating at all — it is about size range, coating and the APEL logo.
By Mike M.Updated Researched from maker specs & standards
#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The contenders
Side by side

StingerHawk: the documented one
Revision StingerHawk
APEL8.3 /10APEL kit, MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1, ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1, a published V50 of 807 ft/s, EN 166 FT, and the OcuMax anti-fog coating named on the page.
$119.05Amazon#ad · Price as of October 10, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Revision StingerHawk

Sawfly: the one that fits
Revision Sawfly Deluxe Kit (Small)
MIL-PRF-32432A8.1 /10Three sizes with published dimensions — Small 144 mm, Regular 144 mm, Large 157 mm — the same clause-cited MIL-PRF-32432A, and lean extendable arms. No coating stated.
$129.59Amazon#ad · Price as of October 10, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Revision Sawfly Deluxe Kit (Small)

ESS Crossbow: the cross-brand reference
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
APEL8.6 /10The other APEL kit most buyers end up comparing: MIL-PRF-32432A on the APEL page, ClearZone FlowCoat named, three documented Rx inserts — but one universal size only.
$101.55Amazon#ad · Price as of October 10, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

The short verdict
Side by side
Every cell is quoted from the source linked beside it. A dash means the figure is not published on the page we cite — which on this comparison is itself the finding: the Sawfly kit page states no coating and no UV percentage, while the StingerHawk page states both.
The rating is a tie, and it is unusual
Both pages carry the same two citations: "MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1 Ballistic fragmentation characteristics Class 1 spectacles" and "ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1 Impact Protector (Z87+)". Nobody else in this category writes a rating like that. Most makers say "meets MIL-PRF-32432" and leave you to guess which clause, which class and which revision; Revision gives you all three and, on the StingerHawk, adds a STANAG V50 of 807 ft/s and EN 166 clause 7.3.4 for high-speed particles.
That V50 figure is worth dwelling on because it is the only published velocity number on this site. V50 is the velocity at which half the shots would be expected to penetrate — so 807 ft/s is not a marketing number, it is a measured threshold, and it sits well above the roughly 150 ft/s steel ball of the ANSI high-velocity test. What that difference means in practice is laid out on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432, and the fragment test itself on MIL-PRF-32432 explained.
So: there is no rating argument between these two frames. Anybody telling you the StingerHawk is "more ballistic" than the Sawfly is reading the price tag, not the page.
Sizes: the Sawfly's whole argument
Revision publishes the Sawfly in three sizes with dimensions: Small at 144 mm wide by 53 mm high by 165 mm long, Regular at 144 by 52 by 165, and Large at 157 by 58 by 180. The StingerHawk is offered in Regular and Large. Almost nothing else in ballistic eyewear publishes a size at all — the exceptions on this site are the Wiley X WX Gravity in Medium and Large, the WX Peak in Medium and Large fits, and Pyramex's Mini Ztek for what it calls slimmer facial sizes.
Note what the numbers actually say, because the marketing does not. Small and Regular are the same 144 mm width; the difference is a millimetre of lens height. The real jump is Large, which is 13 mm wider and 15 mm longer in the temple. If your complaint is that wraps pinch your temples, Large is the fix. If your complaint is that they sit on your cheekbones, Small is a marginal change and you may be better served by a frame designed small from the start — the options are on best shooting glasses for small faces.
OcuMax, and the gap on the Sawfly page
The StingerHawk APEL kit page names its anti-fog treatment: OcuMax. The Sawfly 1 Lens Kit page names nothing. That is not proof the Sawfly has no coating — Revision may well apply the same treatment across the line — but this site does not credit a product with a spec its page does not state, which is why the Sawfly's card says so in its cons and scores lower on fog and scratch resistance.
If you shoot indoors, in humidity, or in and out of a vehicle, treat that gap as real until Revision closes it. A named coating is the single most useful fog spec a maker can publish, and the alternatives are ranked by exactly that criterion on how to stop shooting glasses fogging.
APEL, and what buying one actually means
The StingerHawk kit we cite is the APEL U.S. Military Kit, and it is Berry Compliant. The APEL is the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List, managed through PEO Soldier, and the APEL logo on a pair is how the Army marks eyewear authorized for issue. A listing implies the configuration passed MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic fragmentation testing and was approved — it is the strongest third-party signal available in this product category.
Two honest caveats. First, the APEL applies to a configuration, not a model name: the same frame with a different lens may not be the listed item. Second, the APEL military kit page notes military verification for purchase; the civilian StingerHawk kits carry the same frame and are sold openly. The Sawfly 1 Lens Kit page does not claim APEL, and Revision's category page only says that all models meet or exceed MIL-PRF-32432 and that some are APEL — so we do not badge the Sawfly with it. The whole list and what it does and does not prove is on the APEL approved eyewear list.
What ships in the box
The StingerHawk APEL kit is the fuller box: frame, a clear lens with a clear adjustable nosepiece, a gray lens with a black adjustable nosepiece, a head strap, a pouch, a case and an anti-fog cloth. Two lenses means you can run clear on an indoor bay and gray outdoors without buying anything else, which matters more to most shooters than any single spec on this page.
The Sawfly is sold as a 1 Lens Kit and as multi-lens kits, and which tints you get depends on which size and kit is in stock — the Small-size kit stocked new on Amazon is the Deluxe Yellow Kit with clear, smoke and yellow lenses and a black frame. Both frames state an Rx carrier route, so prescription is available either way; the mechanics of that are on best shooting glasses with Rx inserts.
Where the ESS Crossbow sits
Almost nobody shortlists these two Revisions without also looking at the ESS Crossbow, so it is in the table. The Crossbow APEL kit states MIL-PRF-32432A and the APEL listing on ESS's own page, names ClearZone FlowCoat as an anti-scratch exterior and anti-fog interior coating, documents three separate prescription inserts, and ships clear plus smoke lenses with a tool-free DedBolt lens lock.
What it does not do is fit. The Crossbow is universal fit only — Tri-Tech Fit ergonomics, one size — and that is the line between it and the Sawfly. Against the StingerHawk the decision comes down to citation style versus coating and inserts: Revision gives you clause numbers and a V50, ESS gives you a named coating and a documented Rx path. Both are APEL kits. The head-to-head is on the Crossbow review and Wiley X vs ESS.
Who should buy which
| If you are | Buy | Because |
|---|---|---|
| Finding every wrap too tight or too wide | Sawfly | Three published sizes; Large adds 13 mm of width and 15 mm of temple |
| Wearing a helmet or comms headset | Sawfly Large | 180 mm extendable arms, the longest temple on this site |
| Buying one pair for indoor and outdoor | StingerHawk APEL kit | Clear and gray lenses, strap, case and cloth in the box |
| Fighting fog | StingerHawk | OcuMax is named; the Sawfly kit page states no coating |
| Required to wear APEL-listed eyewear | StingerHawk APEL kit or ESS Crossbow APEL kit | Those are the two pages that print the listing |
| Shooting a few range days a year | ESS Crossbow | Same clause-level tier, named coating, lower price, universal fit |
Editorial recommendations built from the specs in the table above. No pair was on our face; every claim traces to the sources listed below.
In detail
The contenders, in full

StingerHawk: the documented one
Revision StingerHawk
APEL kit, MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1, ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1, a published V50 of 807 ft/s, EN 166 FT, and the OcuMax anti-fog coating named on the page.
EvidenceResearched · maker specs & standards
| Rating tier | APEL. Listed on the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List. The Army tested this configuration to MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic fragmentation and approved it for issue. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1 Impact Protector (Z87+)" |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1 Ballistic fragmentation characteristics Class 1 spectacles"; "STANAG V50 = 807ft/s (246m/s)"; "EN 166 clause 7.3.4 Protection against high speed particles (FT)" |
| APEL | APEL U.S. Military Kit; Berry Compliant |
| Lenses included | Frame, Clear lens with clear adjustable nosepiece, Gray lens with black adjustable nosepiece, head strap, pouch, case, anti-fog cloth |
| Rx insert | Rx carrier available (spec sheet on the product page) |
| Fit / size | Regular and Large sizes |
| Coatings | "OcuMax Anti-Fog Coating" |
| UV | "100% protection from harmful UV-A, B and C rays" |
How the 8.3 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 10
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 6
What the spec page supports
- Clause-level citations for both standards and a published V50 — nobody else on this list gives you the number
- APEL kit with two lenses, strap, case and an Rx carrier route
- Two sizes, each with stated dimensions
- Named anti-fog coating (OcuMax)
Where it falls short
- The APEL military kit page notes military verification for purchase; the civilian StingerHawk kits carry the same frame and are sold openly
- Weight and lens thickness not stated
- Premium price
Skip this if…
…you are buying one pair for occasional range days — the Sawfly and the Crossbow carry the same clause-cited rating for less.
#ad · Price as of October 10, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Revision StingerHawk

Sawfly: the one that fits
Revision Sawfly Deluxe Kit (Small)
Three sizes with published dimensions — Small 144 mm, Regular 144 mm, Large 157 mm — the same clause-cited MIL-PRF-32432A, and lean extendable arms. No coating stated.
EvidenceResearched · maker specs & standards
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1 Impact Protector (Z87+)" |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1 Ballistic fragmentation characteristics Class 1 spectacles" |
| Lenses included | Revision sells the Sawfly as a 1 Lens Kit (frame with adjustable arms, lens with nosepiece, microfiber pouch) and as multi-lens kits; the Small-size kit sold new on Amazon is the Deluxe Yellow Kit — Clear, Smoke and Yellow lenses, black frame |
| Rx insert | "Compatible with Sawfly interchangeable lenses and Rx Carrier" |
| Temples | "Lean, extendable arms guarantee a comfortable, stable fit and steady, equipment compatibility" |
| Fit / size | Small 144 mm W × 53 mm H × 165 mm L; Regular 144 × 52 × 165; Large 157 × 58 × 180 |
| UV | "100% protection from harmful UV-A, B and C rays" |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 7
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 10
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 5
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- Three sizes with published dimensions — the only way to buy a ballistic frame that actually fits a small or a large head
- Clause-cited MIL-PRF-32432A and ANSI Z87.1-2020
- Lean extendable arms for equipment compatibility
- Rx carrier documented
Where it falls short
- Revision sizes the kits separately, so the tint set you get depends on which size and kit is in stock
- No anti-fog coating stated on the kit page
- Revision's category page says all models meet MIL-PRF-32432 and some are APEL; the Sawfly 1 Lens Kit page itself does not claim APEL, so we do not
Skip this if…
…you want a named anti-fog coating in the box — the StingerHawk kit states OcuMax, the Sawfly kit page states nothing.
#ad · Price as of October 10, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Revision Sawfly Deluxe Kit (Small)

ESS Crossbow: the cross-brand reference
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
The other APEL kit most buyers end up comparing: MIL-PRF-32432A on the APEL page, ClearZone FlowCoat named, three documented Rx inserts — but one universal size only.
EvidenceResearched · maker specs & standards
How the 8.6 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 10
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- APEL listing and MIL-PRF-32432A stated by the maker on the APEL kit page
- Clear and smoke lenses in the box; tool-free DedBolt swap
- Three documented Rx-insert options (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC)
- Named anti-fog / anti-scratch coating (ClearZone FlowCoat)
Where it falls short
- Lens material, thickness, weight and warranty are not stated on the product pages
- The plain 2LS kit page lists ANSI Z87+ and OSHA but not the MIL-PRF wording — buy the APEL SKU if the Army listing matters to you
- Universal fit only; no small or large size
Skip this if…
…you have a narrow face — the Crossbow comes in one universal size, and the Sawfly's Small or a youth frame will seal better.
#ad · Price as of October 10, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
How Lens & Lead rates eyewear
How these picks were chosen
Every pair here is picked from the certification its maker publishes and repeats in its own wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), the lens system and the tints in the box, whether the temples are described for ear muffs, and whether an Rx route exists — then scored on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to the page it came from, so you can confirm the protection before you buy. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, and the rating, the lens system and the fit are what move a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is the StingerHawk more protective than the Sawfly?
No. Both pages cite MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1 Class 1 and ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1. The StingerHawk page additionally publishes a STANAG V50 of 807 ft/s and EN 166 FT, but that is more documentation of the same tier, not a higher one.
Which Revision glasses come in a small size?
The Sawfly. Revision publishes it in Small (144 mm × 53 mm × 165 mm), Regular and Large (157 mm × 58 mm × 180 mm). The StingerHawk is offered in Regular and Large only.
Are the StingerHawk and Sawfly APEL approved?
The StingerHawk kit we cite is sold as an APEL U.S. Military Kit and states the listing. The Sawfly 1 Lens Kit page does not claim APEL, so we do not badge it with one — Revision's category page says only that some of its models are listed.
Can you get prescription lenses for either?
Both state an Rx carrier route on their product pages — an insert that sits behind the ballistic lens rather than replacing it. The trade-offs against glazing a prescription straight into a frame are on our inserts vs prescription lenses page.
Keep reading
Related on Lens & Lead
Receipts
Sources
- Revision Military — StingerHawk Eyewear APEL U.S. Military Kit page (MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1, ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1, V50, EN 166, sizes, OcuMax) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Revision Military — Sawfly Eyewear 1 Lens Kit page (MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1, ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1, sizes, Rx carrier) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Revision Military — Ballistic Rated Glasses category page ("all models meet or exceed ANSI Z87.1 and MIL-PRF-32432") (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow 2LS Kit page (ANSI Z87+ 2020, ClearZone FlowCoat, U-Rx / Vice inserts, Tri-Tech Fit) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL page (ANSI Z87.1+ 2015, MIL-PRF-32432A, APEL) (checked 2026-09-21)
- U.S. Army — Effective Eye Protection Preserves Sight to Fight (APEL managed by PEO Soldier / MCEP; the APEL logo marks authorized eyewear) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wikipedia — Authorized Protective Eyewear List (overview; PM SPIE; MIL-PRF-32432 fragmentation testing) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wikipedia — Ballistic eyewear (MIL-PRF-31013 0.15 cal T37 at 640–660 ft/s for spectacles; 0.22 cal at 550–560 ft/s for goggles; Z87 vs Z87+ marking) (checked 2026-09-21)
- MSC Industrial Supply — Understanding ANSI Z87.1 (high-mass 500 g from 4 ft; high-velocity steel ball at 102 mph; Z87+ and U/L/W/H/D/X markings) (checked 2026-09-21)
Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages and manuals (linked on every product), with the published safety standards behind them, and a labeled retailer or press page where the maker's own page was unavailable. Every buy button opens today's live Amazon price. Read the full method.