Range / Gift guide
Gifts for shooters: six pairs of rated glasses the recipient will actually wear
You do not need to know their caliber. You need a pair with the rating on the maker's page, a fit that suits most faces, and a lens for the light they shoot in. Written for the gifter.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-page researched, not worn by us
#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Rating | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit The Army-listed kit with two lenses. Universal fit. Nobody returns a Crossbow. | The gift that says you asked someone | APEL | 8.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Wiley X Saber Advanced A ballistic pair with a foam brow and a warranty in writing; fits medium-to-large faces. | The lifetime-warranty gift | MIL-PRF-32432A | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit Three lenses in a case; the safe pick when you do not know if they shoot indoors or out. | The kit for any light | Military V0 | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() ESS ICE-3LS Kit Three lenses and temples built for headborne gear. | For the shooter who wears muffs | MIL-PRF-32432A | 8.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Pyramex V2G Glasses that convert to a sealed goggle; temples and strap in the box. | For the tinkerer or the parent | MIL-PRF-32432 | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit) Four tints and a weatherproof case for the least money. | The stocking stuffer | Z87.1+ | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Ratings are quoted from the maker's page (or the retailer's, where labeled); scores are our editorial judgment from those pages, not tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

What you need to know about them
Three things, and you can find them out without giving the surprise away. Do they wear glasses? If yes, buy a frame with a documented Rx insert (the Crossbow, the ICE) or skip to the over-the-glasses picks. Do they wear ear muffs? Most do; the ICE and the Saber's shorter temples handle it. Indoors or out? If you do not know, a kit with a clear lens and a tinted one covers both. The ratings themselves you do not need to understand — every pick here states one on the maker's page, and the rating column on each card shows it. If you are curious anyway, ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432 is the short version.
Fit: what suits most faces
You cannot try it on their face, so buy a frame the maker calls universal or adjustable. ESS calls the Crossbow "Universal Fit"; Walker's Sport kit adjusts at the nose and ratchets the lens angle; the Genesis adjusts temple length and lens angle and has a flexible nose piece. The Saber Advanced is a full-size frame — a fine gift for a medium or large face, a return for a small one. If the recipient is a woman or has a narrow face, the small-face picks are on shooting glasses for small faces; if it is a child, youth shooting glasses.
Light: pick a kit if unsure
A clear lens is right indoors, a smoke lens outdoors, and a yellow or vermillion lens on a gray day at a clay course. The kits solve the guess: the Genesis ships clear, amber and vermillion; the ICE clear, smoke and yellow; Walker's clear, smoke, amber and yellow; the Crossbow clear and smoke. A single-lens sunglass is a gift for someone you know shoots outdoors in sun.
What to write in the card
"It's rated — the standard is on the box. Wear it every time." That is the whole message. Shooters who own good glasses still forget them; a pair that lives in the range bag is the one that gets worn.
The mistake gifters make
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 01
Stock photoThe gift that says you asked someone
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
The Army-listed kit with two lenses. Universal fit. Nobody returns a Crossbow.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | APEL. Listed on the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List. The Army tested this configuration to MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic fragmentation and approved it for issue. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87+ 2020" (2LS kit page); "ANSI Z87.1+ 2015 Edition" (APEL kit page) |
| Ballistic standard | "U.S. MIL-PRF-32432A" (APEL kit page, SKU 740-0386) |
| APEL | "APEL (Authorized Protective Eyewear List) approved" — the Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL kit |
| Lens system | "Patented DedBolt Lens Lock" for quick exchange |
| Lenses included | Fully assembled frame with Smoke Gray lens plus a Clear lens (2LS); the APEL kit ships two assembled eyeshields, hard case and pouch |
| Rx insert | "Prescription compatible with the ESS U-Rx Insert, ESS Vice Insert, and UPLC" |
| Fit / size | "Tri-Tech Fit ergonomics offer universal comfort and stability. Universal Fit." |
| Coatings | "ClearZone FlowCoat technology minimizes scratches and provides unmatched anti-fog capability" |
How the 8.6 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 10
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- APEL listing and MIL-PRF-32432A stated by the maker on the APEL kit page
- Clear and smoke lenses in the box; tool-free DedBolt swap
- Three documented Rx-insert options (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC)
- Named anti-fog / anti-scratch coating (ClearZone FlowCoat)
Where it falls short
- Lens material, thickness, weight and warranty are not stated on the product pages
- The plain 2LS kit page lists ANSI Z87+ and OSHA but not the MIL-PRF wording — buy the APEL SKU if the Army listing matters to you
- Universal fit only; no small or large size
Skip this if…
…you have a narrow face — the Crossbow comes in one universal size, and the Sawfly's Small or a youth frame will seal better.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
Rank 02
Stock photoThe lifetime-warranty gift
Wiley X Saber Advanced
A ballistic pair with a foam brow and a warranty in writing; fits medium-to-large faces.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1+ ("optical clarity and high mass/high velocity impact standards") |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF-32432A Ballistic safety standards" |
| Lens system | Changeable / interchangeable lens system; "foam insert on changeable lens" |
| Fit / size | High-wrap frame; flexible adjustable nose piece |
| Frame width | Lens width 138 mm; lens height 50 mm; bridge 25 mm; temple 114 mm |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 7
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- MIL-PRF-32432A and ANSI Z87.1+ both stated on the product page
- Lens swaps without tools; clear, smoke and other tints sold as changeable lenses
- Foam brow insert closes the gap above the lens that sweat and casings find
- Lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- Weight and lens material are not published on the product page
- Rx insert availability is not stated on the product page
- 138 mm lens width runs large on narrow faces
Skip this if…
…you need an Rx insert route the maker documents on the product page, or you have a narrow face — the 138 mm lens is a full-size frame.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X Saber Advanced
Rank 03
Stock photoThe kit for any light
Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit
Three lenses in a case; the safe pick when you do not know if they shoot indoors or out.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Military V0. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1-2010 (High Impact); CSA Z94.3 |
| Ballistic standard | "Clear and Amber lenses meet Military V0 ballistic impact test requirements (7X higher than ANSI)" — note: the vermillion lens is not included in that statement |
| Lens system | 9-base wraparound uni-lens; interchangeable |
| Lenses included | Clear (indoor/outdoor), Amber (low light), Vermillion (fluorescent/halogen indoor ranges); case; cloth |
| Fit / size | Flexible nose piece; adjustable temple length; adjustable lens inclination; "soft, elastomer browguard" |
| Coatings | "Uvextreme anti-fog coating and ventilation channel" |
| UV | 99.9% |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 8
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 10
What the spec page supports
- Vermillion lens in the box — the indoor-range tint most kits leave out
- Named anti-fog coating with a ventilation channel
- Adjustable temple length and lens angle; brow guard
- Military V0 wording on the clear and amber lenses
Where it falls short
- The V0 claim covers clear and amber only; the vermillion lens carries the ANSI rating
- The stated ANSI edition is 2010, not 2020
- Weight not published
Skip this if…
…you want the ballistic wording to cover every lens in the box — here it covers two of three.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit
Rank 04
Stock photoFor the shooter who wears muffs
ESS ICE-3LS Kit
Three lenses and temples built for headborne gear.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1 |
| Ballistic standard | MIL-PRF-32432A |
| Lens material | Polycarbonate |
| Lenses included | Clear, Smoke Gray, Hi-Def Yellow; elastic strap; anti-fog cloth; case |
| Rx insert | U-Rx Insert and Vice Rx Insert ("compatible with all eyeshields") |
| Temples | "Adjustable earbends with telescoping temples featuring bend-to-fit inner-wire ear tabs and snap-on leash system for improved fit with headborne equipment" |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
How the 8.2 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 9
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 6
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- Three-lens kit covers indoor, bright and flat light out of the box
- Thin telescoping temples the maker designs for headborne equipment — the reason it sits under muffs
- MIL-PRF-32432A and Rx-insert compatibility both stated
- Strap included for a goggle-style hold
Where it falls short
- Frameless lens edge is exposed; lens scratches show more than on a framed pair
- No named anti-fog coating on the page — a cloth is supplied instead
- Weight not published
Skip this if…
…you want a named anti-fog coating for a humid indoor range — the Crossbow's ClearZone FlowCoat is documented, the ICE's is not.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS ICE-3LS Kit
Rank 05
Stock photoFor the tinkerer or the parent
Pyramex V2G
Glasses that convert to a sealed goggle; temples and strap in the box.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020 + High Impact; CAN/CSA Z94.3-2020; CE/UKCA EN 166 |
| Ballistic standard | MIL-PRF-32432 ("passes high-velocity impact standards") |
| Lens system | 9.75 base curved lens; Clear, Gray, Amber, I/O Mirror |
| Temples | "Interchangeable temples and headband included with each pair"; ratchet adjustment |
| Fit / size | Flame-resistant foam padding; vented lens and frame |
| Coatings | H2X Anti-fog; H2MAX Anti-fog (variant-dependent) |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 7
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- Sealed foam plus a strap: the closest thing to a goggle that still wears like glasses
- MIL-PRF-32432 and Z87.1+ stated by the maker
- Named anti-fog coatings, vented frame
- Four tints offered
Where it falls short
- Foam seal traps heat; fog control depends on the vents doing their job
- Not marketed for fit over prescription glasses
- Weight and UV figure not stated
Skip this if…
…you wear muffs and hate pressure — a foam-sealed frame plus a strap under a muff cup is a lot of hardware on one head.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Pyramex V2G
Rank 06
Stock photoThe stocking stuffer
Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit)
Four tints and a weatherproof case for the least money.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Z87.1+. ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 impact-rated: a 500 g pointed weight dropped from 50 in and a 1/4 in steel ball at 150 ft/s. The minimum for any pair on this site. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "Exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement" (older edition) |
| Lens material | High-grade polycarbonate |
| Lens system | "Clip & tension mounted design ensures quick & easy lens change" |
| Lenses included | Clear, Smoke Gray, Amber, Yellow; soft pouch, nylon sleeve, weatherproof case |
| Fit / size | Adjustable frame; ratcheting lens pitch; adjustable nose pad for broad bridge sizes |
| Coatings | "Anti-fog design with airflow promotion" (no named coating) |
| UV | UV protection (percentage not stated) |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 6
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 5
- Value (15%)
- 10
What the spec page supports
- Four tints in the box covers indoor, overcast, bright and orange-clay light
- Ratcheting lens pitch and an adjustable nose pad — real fit adjustment at a budget price
- Weatherproof case included
Where it falls short
- The maker cites the 2003 edition of Z87.1; no MIL-PRF wording
- Anti-fog is a vented design, not a named coating
- No Rx route; weight not stated
Skip this if…
…you want a ballistic (MIL-PRF) rating — this is a Z87.1 high-impact kit, and the Genesis Sharp-Shooter adds military V0 wording for a little more.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit)
How Lens & Lead rates eyewear
Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is a good gift for a shooter?
A rated pair of shooting glasses they will actually wear: a universal-fit kit like the ESS Crossbow, or a three-lens kit like the Howard Leight Genesis if you do not know where they shoot.
Do I need to know their glasses size?
Not for a universal or adjustable frame (Crossbow, Genesis, Walker's). Avoid full-size frames like the Saber Advanced for a narrow face, and buy a youth frame for a child.
Are shooting glasses a good gift for someone who wears prescription glasses?
Yes if the frame documents an Rx insert (Crossbow, ICE) or if you buy an over-the-glasses pair. Otherwise they cannot use it with their prescription.
Keep reading
Related on Lens & Lead
Receipts
Sources
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL page (ANSI Z87.1+ 2015, MIL-PRF-32432A, APEL) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow 2LS Kit page (ANSI Z87+ 2020, ClearZone FlowCoat, U-Rx / Vice inserts, Tri-Tech Fit) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wiley X — Saber Advanced product page (ratings, frame measurements, warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports — Genesis Sharp-Shooter Combo Kit page (ANSI Z87.1-2010 high impact, CSA Z94.3, "Military V0" on clear/amber, Uvextreme, 3 lenses) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — ICE-3LS Kit page (ANSI Z87.1, MIL-PRF-32432A, kit contents, Rx inserts, temples) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Pyramex — V2G Sealed Eyewear page (ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020+, MIL-PRF-32432, CSA, EN 166, H2X/H2MAX, temples + strap) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Walker's — Sport Glasses With Interchangeable Lens page (4-lens kit, "exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement") (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.