Skip to content
Lens & Lead

Range / The rankings

The best shooting glasses, ranked by the rating they actually carry

Eight pairs from ESS, Revision, Wiley X, Oakley SI, Magpul, Howard Leight and Radians, sorted by the standard on the maker's own page first — APEL, MIL-PRF-32432, Z87.1+ — then by what is in the box and how they sit under muffs.

#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forRatingScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surface
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

APEL-listed on the APEL kit page, MIL-PRF-32432A, clear plus smoke in the box, tool-free lens swap, three documented Rx inserts.

Best shooting glasses overallAPEL8.6 /10Check price · Amazon
2
Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surface
Revision StingerHawk

Clause-cited MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1-2020, a published V50, APEL, two sizes and the OcuMax coating.

Best-documented ratingAPEL8.3 /10Check price · Amazon
3
Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surface
Wiley X Saber Advanced

MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+, changeable lenses, foam brow insert, lifetime warranty.

Best for the range bagMIL-PRF-32432A8.1 /10Check price · Amazon
4
Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surface
Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0

Thin Stem temples and Plutonite optics; ratings quoted from a retailer because Oakley's page blocks readers.

Best for comms and muffsMIL-PRF-324328.0 /10Check price · Amazon
5
Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surface
ESS ICE-3LS Kit

Three lenses, telescoping temples built for headborne equipment, MIL-PRF-32432A.

Best under ear muffsMIL-PRF-32432A8.2 /10Check price · Amazon
6
Illustrative stock photo: black sport sunglasses with a case on a dark surface
Magpul Defiant

Temples designed around hearing protection, inside anti-reflective coat; 'tested to' MIL-PRF-32432 per the coverage we could read.

Best range sunglassMIL-PRF-32432 (tested to)8.1 /10Check price · Amazon
7
Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surface
Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit

Clear, amber and vermillion lenses, Uvextreme anti-fog, military V0 on two of three lenses, at a budget price.

Best value kitMilitary V08.1 /10Check price · Amazon
8
Illustrative stock photo: black sport sunglasses with a case on a dark surface
Radians Crossfire Badge

MIL-PRF-32432 and Z87.1+ stated on a half-frame with rubber temples.

Best budget MIL-PRFMIL-PRF-324326.6 /10Check price · Amazon

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Ratings are quoted from the maker's page (or the retailer's, where labeled); scores are our editorial judgment from those pages, not tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

A man aiming a rifle on an indoor shooting range
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific pair reviewed on this page.

How these were ranked

Every ranking site claims to have shot in every pair. We did not, and we say so. What this list does that those lists do not is put the rating in a column: the certification the maker actually publishes on its product page, in the maker's own words, linked in every card's Evidence table. Protection carries 30% of the score. The rest is the lens system and tints in the box (20%), fit and ear-muff compatibility (20%), fog and scratch coatings (15%) and value (15%) — the published rubric. Prices are not printed because they change; the button checks Amazon live.

The three rating tiers

Two pairs here carry an APEL listing on the page we cite — the Crossbow and the StingerHawk — which means the U.S. Army, not the maker, ran the MIL-PRF-32432 fragmentation test. Five state a MIL-PRF pass in their own words: the Saber Advanced ("MIL-PRF-32432A Ballistic safety standards"), the ICE-3LS (MIL-PRF-32432A), the Badge ("meeting MIL-PRF-32432 standards"), the Oakley (MIL-PRF-32432, as listed by the retailer we could read) and the Genesis ("Military V0" on clear and amber). The Defiant is the odd one: the coverage says "tested to", which is a weaker verb, and its card says so. Every pair on this list is at least Z87.1+. What the tiers mean is on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.

Kit or single lens

An indoor range wants a clear lens; a bright field wants smoke; a flat gray sky over orange clays wants amber or vermillion. Four pairs here are kits: the Crossbow (clear + smoke), the StingerHawk (clear + gray), the ICE-3LS (clear + smoke + Hi-Def yellow) and the Genesis (clear + amber + vermillion). The Saber Advanced and Oakley sell changeable lenses separately; the Defiant and Badge are single-lens frames. If you shoot indoors and out, a kit is cheaper than two pairs, and the ICE and Genesis cover the widest spread of light in one box. The tint matrix is on the lens color guide.

Temples and ear muffs

A muff cup pressing a thick temple into your skull is the reason people take their glasses off at the range, and a gapped seal is an unrated pair. Three makers here design for it in writing: Oakley's Thin Stem is "designed for compatibility with over-ear protection and communication systems without pressure points"; Magpul's temples are "designed to eliminate pressure points while wearing over-the-ear hearing protection"; ESS gives the ICE telescoping temples with bend-to-fit ear tabs "for improved fit with headborne equipment". The dedicated ranking is on shooting glasses for ear muffs.

If you wear glasses

Three of these frames document a prescription route behind the rated lens: the Crossbow (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC inserts), the StingerHawk (Rx carrier) and the ICE (U-Rx and Vice). Wiley X sells an Rx insert for the Vapor rather than the Saber. The insert keeps the ballistic lens in front of your prescription; the alternatives — prescription ground into a rated lens, or a rated frame worn over your glasses — are compared on the prescription guide.

The mistake buyers make

If you buy one

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 01

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Best shooting glasses overall

ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

APEL8.6 /10

APEL-listed on the APEL kit page, MIL-PRF-32432A, clear plus smoke in the box, tool-free lens swap, three documented Rx inserts.

How the 8.6 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
10
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
8
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
8
Value (15%)
8

What the spec page supports

  • APEL listing and MIL-PRF-32432A stated by the maker on the APEL kit page
  • Clear and smoke lenses in the box; tool-free DedBolt swap
  • Three documented Rx-insert options (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC)
  • Named anti-fog / anti-scratch coating (ClearZone FlowCoat)

Where it falls short

  • Lens material, thickness, weight and warranty are not stated on the product pages
  • The plain 2LS kit page lists ANSI Z87+ and OSHA but not the MIL-PRF wording — buy the APEL SKU if the Army listing matters to you
  • Universal fit only; no small or large size

Skip this if…

you have a narrow face — the Crossbow comes in one universal size, and the Sawfly's Small or a youth frame will seal better.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

Rank 02

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Best-documented rating

Revision StingerHawk

APEL8.3 /10

Clause-cited MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1-2020, a published V50, APEL, two sizes and the OcuMax coating.

How the 8.3 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
10
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
8
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
8
Value (15%)
6

What the spec page supports

  • Clause-level citations for both standards and a published V50 — nobody else on this list gives you the number
  • APEL kit with two lenses, strap, case and an Rx carrier route
  • Two sizes, each with stated dimensions
  • Named anti-fog coating (OcuMax)

Where it falls short

  • The APEL military kit page notes military verification for purchase; the civilian StingerHawk kits carry the same frame and are sold openly
  • Weight and lens thickness not stated
  • Premium price

Skip this if…

you are buying one pair for occasional range days — the Sawfly and the Crossbow carry the same clause-cited rating for less.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Revision StingerHawk

Rank 03

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Best for the range bag

Wiley X Saber Advanced

MIL-PRF-32432A8.1 /10

MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+, changeable lenses, foam brow insert, lifetime warranty.

EvidenceResearched · not worn by us

Rating tierMIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list.
Impact ratingANSI Z87.1+ ("optical clarity and high mass/high velocity impact standards")
Ballistic standard"MIL-PRF-32432A Ballistic safety standards"
Lens systemChangeable / interchangeable lens system; "foam insert on changeable lens"
Fit / sizeHigh-wrap frame; flexible adjustable nose piece
Frame widthLens width 138 mm; lens height 50 mm; bridge 25 mm; temple 114 mm
UV100% UVA/UVB
WarrantyLifetime warranty
How the 8.1 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
9
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
7
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
7
Value (15%)
9

What the spec page supports

  • MIL-PRF-32432A and ANSI Z87.1+ both stated on the product page
  • Lens swaps without tools; clear, smoke and other tints sold as changeable lenses
  • Foam brow insert closes the gap above the lens that sweat and casings find
  • Lifetime warranty

Where it falls short

  • Weight and lens material are not published on the product page
  • Rx insert availability is not stated on the product page
  • 138 mm lens width runs large on narrow faces

Skip this if…

you need an Rx insert route the maker documents on the product page, or you have a narrow face — the 138 mm lens is a full-size frame.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X Saber Advanced

Rank 04

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Best for comms and muffs

Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0

MIL-PRF-324328.0 /10

Thin Stem temples and Plutonite optics; ratings quoted from a retailer because Oakley's page blocks readers.

EvidenceResearched · not worn by us

Rating tierMIL-PRF-32432. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list.
Impact ratingANSI Z87.1 (as listed by the retailer)
Ballistic standardMIL-PRF-32432 (as listed by the retailer)
Lens materialPlutonite
Lens systemModular lens system; Clear, Gray and Prizm Gray lens options
Temples"Thin Stem Technology — designed for compatibility with over-ear protection and communication systems without pressure points"
CoatingsAnti-fog coating
UV"Filters 100% of all UVA, UVB, UVC, and harmful blue light up to 400nm"
How the 8.0 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
8
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
9
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
9
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
7
Value (15%)
6

What the spec page supports

  • Thin Stem temples described specifically for over-ear protection and comms
  • Modular lens system with clear, gray and Prizm options
  • High Definition Optics claim and a 400 nm UV cutoff
  • Long service history as issued eyewear

Where it falls short

  • We could not read Oakley's own page or the Army APEL page — ratings are quoted from a retailer listing and we do not mark it APEL here
  • Rx insert availability not stated on the listing
  • Premium price for the same MIL-PRF tier as the Saber Advanced

Skip this if…

you want the rating and APEL status straight from a page you can read yourself — the ESS Crossbow APEL kit states both on the maker's site.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0

Rank 05

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Best under ear muffs

ESS ICE-3LS Kit

MIL-PRF-32432A8.2 /10

Three lenses, telescoping temples built for headborne equipment, MIL-PRF-32432A.

EvidenceResearched · not worn by us

Rating tierMIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list.
Impact ratingANSI Z87.1
Ballistic standardMIL-PRF-32432A
Lens materialPolycarbonate
Lenses includedClear, Smoke Gray, Hi-Def Yellow; elastic strap; anti-fog cloth; case
Rx insertU-Rx Insert and Vice Rx Insert ("compatible with all eyeshields")
Temples"Adjustable earbends with telescoping temples featuring bend-to-fit inner-wire ear tabs and snap-on leash system for improved fit with headborne equipment"
UV100% UVA/UVB
How the 8.2 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
9
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
9
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
6
Value (15%)
8

What the spec page supports

  • Three-lens kit covers indoor, bright and flat light out of the box
  • Thin telescoping temples the maker designs for headborne equipment — the reason it sits under muffs
  • MIL-PRF-32432A and Rx-insert compatibility both stated
  • Strap included for a goggle-style hold

Where it falls short

  • Frameless lens edge is exposed; lens scratches show more than on a framed pair
  • No named anti-fog coating on the page — a cloth is supplied instead
  • Weight not published

Skip this if…

you want a named anti-fog coating for a humid indoor range — the Crossbow's ClearZone FlowCoat is documented, the ICE's is not.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS ICE-3LS Kit

Rank 06

Illustrative stock photo: black sport sunglasses with a case on a dark surfaceStock photo

Best range sunglass

Magpul Defiant

MIL-PRF-32432 (tested to)8.1 /10

Temples designed around hearing protection, inside anti-reflective coat; 'tested to' MIL-PRF-32432 per the coverage we could read.

How the 8.1 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
8
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
9
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
8
Value (15%)
7

What the spec page supports

  • Temples explicitly designed around over-the-ear hearing protection
  • Inside anti-reflective coating — the reflection off the back of a lens is a real annoyance on a bright range
  • Removable lenses; DAKA hard case in the box
  • Fits medium-to-large faces by design

Where it falls short

  • Magpul's own site blocked our reader; the ratings are quoted from press coverage and read "tested to", not "certified"
  • Sold as a sunglass — no clear lens bundled for indoor use
  • No Rx route stated

Skip this if…

you want "certified" rather than "tested to" wording, or an APEL logo — Revision and ESS state both outright.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Magpul Defiant

Rank 07

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Best value kit

Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit

Military V08.1 /10

Clear, amber and vermillion lenses, Uvextreme anti-fog, military V0 on two of three lenses, at a budget price.

How the 8.1 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
8
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
7
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
8
Value (15%)
10

What the spec page supports

  • Vermillion lens in the box — the indoor-range tint most kits leave out
  • Named anti-fog coating with a ventilation channel
  • Adjustable temple length and lens angle; brow guard
  • Military V0 wording on the clear and amber lenses

Where it falls short

  • The V0 claim covers clear and amber only; the vermillion lens carries the ANSI rating
  • The stated ANSI edition is 2010, not 2020
  • Weight not published

Skip this if…

you want the ballistic wording to cover every lens in the box — here it covers two of three.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit

Rank 08

Illustrative stock photo: black sport sunglasses with a case on a dark surfaceStock photo

Best budget MIL-PRF

Radians Crossfire Badge

MIL-PRF-324326.6 /10

MIL-PRF-32432 and Z87.1+ stated on a half-frame with rubber temples.

EvidenceResearched · not worn by us

Rating tierMIL-PRF-32432. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list.
Impact rating"exceeding ANSI/ISEA Z87.1+ impact requirements"
Ballistic standard"meeting MIL-PRF-32432 standards"
TemplesDual-mold rubber temples; adjustable, vented nosepiece
Fit / sizeLightweight half-frame; matte rubberized black frame
How the 6.6 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
8
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
5
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
6
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
4
Value (15%)
9

What the spec page supports

  • MIL-PRF-32432 and Z87.1+ both stated by the maker
  • Half-frame keeps the lower field of view open
  • Vented nosepiece for airflow

Where it falls short

  • Lens material, tints, coatings, UV and weight are not stated on the page
  • Single lens; no kit
  • No Rx route stated

Skip this if…

you need a stated anti-fog coating or a lens kit — the page says nothing about either.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Radians Crossfire Badge

Buyer's guide: what decides the price

Three things move the price of a rated pair: the certification tier (an APEL SKU costs more than the same maker's civilian kit, which costs more than a Z87.1+-only frame), the lens system (tool-free swaps and bundled tints add cost; a single molded lens is cheapest), and the Rx route (a frame with a documented insert carries a premium whether or not you use it). Coatings matter less to the price than to the experience — a named anti-fog such as ESS's ClearZone FlowCoat, Revision's OcuMax or Howard Leight's Uvextreme is worth a line on the spec page; a bare "anti-fog" with no name is not.

What to ignore

Lens color names, frame finishes, and any adjective without a document number behind it. "Military grade" is not a rating. "Ballistic" is not a rating. A wraparound shape is not a rating.

Who should buy something else

How Lens & Lead rates eyewear

Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • First edition. Eight pairs, every rating quoted from the maker's page or a labeled retailer listing.

Questions

Frequently asked

What rating should shooting glasses have?

ANSI Z87.1+ at minimum; a maker-stated MIL-PRF-32432 pass for steel, indoor bays, air guns and children; an APEL listing if you want the Army to have run the test.

Are Oakley sunglasses good for shooting?

The Oakley SI Ballistic models are; Oakley's fashion lines are not rated for it. The SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0 on this list is the one whose listing names ANSI Z87.1 and MIL-PRF-32432.

Do shooting glasses make a difference?

Ejected brass, ricochets, clay chips and spall are all small, fast objects that the Z87+ high-velocity test simulates and the MIL-PRF fragment test exceeds. An unrated sunglass has not been shown to stop any of them.

What color lens is best for shooting glasses?

Clear for indoors, smoke for bright sun, amber or yellow for flat light, vermillion for orange clays. A kit with two or three of those covers most days.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. ESS EyePro — Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL page (ANSI Z87.1+ 2015, MIL-PRF-32432A, APEL) (checked 2026-09-21)
  2. ESS EyePro — Crossbow 2LS Kit page (ANSI Z87+ 2020, ClearZone FlowCoat, U-Rx / Vice inserts, Tri-Tech Fit) (checked 2026-09-21)
  3. Revision Military — StingerHawk Eyewear APEL U.S. Military Kit page (MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1, ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1, V50, EN 166, sizes, OcuMax) (checked 2026-09-21)
  4. Wiley X — Saber Advanced product page (ratings, frame measurements, warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
  5. Shellback Tactical — Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0 listing (ANSI Z87.1, MIL-PRF-32432, Thin Stem, Plutonite, UV) (checked 2026-09-21)
  6. ESS EyePro — ICE-3LS Kit page (ANSI Z87.1, MIL-PRF-32432A, kit contents, Rx inserts, temples) (checked 2026-09-21)
  7. Shooting Sports USA (NRA) — New: Magpul Defiant Eyewear (Z87+, tested to MIL-PRF-32432, TR90NZZ, temple design, coatings) (checked 2026-09-21)
  8. Howard Leight Shooting Sports — Genesis Sharp-Shooter Combo Kit page (ANSI Z87.1-2010 high impact, CSA Z94.3, "Military V0" on clear/amber, Uvextreme, 3 lenses) (checked 2026-09-21)
  9. Radians — Crossfire Badge Ballistic-Rated Eyewear page (MIL-PRF-32432, ANSI/ISEA Z87.1+, dual-mold temples) (checked 2026-09-21)
  10. U.S. Army — Effective Eye Protection Preserves Sight to Fight (APEL managed by PEO Soldier / MCEP; the APEL logo marks authorized eyewear) (checked 2026-09-21)
  11. Wikipedia — Ballistic eyewear (MIL-PRF-31013 0.15 cal T37 at 640–660 ft/s for spectacles; 0.22 cal at 550–560 ft/s for goggles; Z87 vs Z87+ marking) (checked 2026-09-21)

We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.

Back to Shooting Glasses