Skip to content
Lens & Lead

Range / The rankings

The best ballistic glasses: six frames whose makers state MIL-PRF-32432, two of them on the Army's list

Ballistic is not a marketing word — it is a specific test with a specific projectile at a specific speed. These six state the pass on their own pages. Ranked by the standard first, then by what is in the box.

#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forRatingScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surface
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

APEL-listed on the APEL kit page, MIL-PRF-32432A stated, clear plus smoke in the box, tool-free lens swap, three documented Rx inserts.

Best ballistic glasses overallAPEL8.6 /10Check price · Amazon
2
Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surface
Revision StingerHawk

APEL kit that cites the MIL-PRF-32432A clause by number and offers regular and large sizes — the most specific rating language of any pair here.

Best ballistic kit for a small or large faceAPEL8.3 /10Check price · Amazon
3
Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surface
Wiley X Saber Advanced

MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+ on the maker's page, changeable lenses, a foam brow insert and a lifetime warranty, listed from $58.

Best value in a ballistic frameMIL-PRF-32432A8.1 /10Check price · Amazon
4
Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surface
Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0

Plutonite lenses and the Thin Stem temple; the rating is quoted from a retailer listing because Oakley's own page blocks our reader, and it is deliberately not badged APEL.

Best ballistic opticsMIL-PRF-324328.0 /10Check price · Amazon
5
Illustrative stock photo: black sport sunglasses with a case on a dark surface
Magpul Defiant

Z87+ and "tested to MIL-PRF-32432" per the NRA launch article, in a frame that does not announce itself.

Best ballistic wrap for everyday carryMIL-PRF-32432 (tested to)8.1 /10Check price · Amazon
6
Illustrative stock photo: black sport sunglasses with a case on a dark surface
Edge Hamel

MIL-PRF 32432-A with six Vapor Shield lens options — including polarized smoke and photochromic — on temples cut thin for ear muffs.

Best ballistic frame with a polarized or photochromic lensMIL-PRF-32432A8.7 /10Check price · Amazon

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Ratings are quoted from the maker's page (or the retailer's, where labeled); scores are our editorial judgment from those pages, not tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

A soldier in tactical gear aiming a rifle outdoors
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific pair reviewed on this page.

What makes a pair ballistic

A pair of glasses earns the word ballistic by surviving a fragment simulator, not a steel ball. Edge, which builds to the standard, puts the requirement plainly: eyewear tested for compliance with MIL-PRF-32432 must withstand a 22-caliber projectile traveling at more than 660 feet per second. ANSI Z87.1's high-velocity test, the one behind the plus, fires a quarter-inch steel ball at about 150 feet per second. Both matter. They are not the same test, and no amount of tactical styling moves a pair from one to the other.

That is the whole filter for this page. Every pick below has a maker page — or, where the maker's page blocks automated readers, a labeled retailer or press page — that states MIL-PRF-32432, MIL-PRF-31013 or the MCEPS military ballistic requirement. If a pair only says Z87.1, it belongs on the general best-shooting-glasses list, not here.

Why this order

Rating first, and the rating has tiers. The Crossbow and the StingerHawk are on the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List, which means the Army tested that exact configuration and approved it for issue — the highest evidence available to a civilian buyer. The Saber Advanced, the Oakley SI M Frame 3.0, the Magpul Defiant and the Edge Hamel all state a MIL-PRF-32432 pass without an APEL listing, so they sit below the two kits but above every Z87+ pair on the site.

After the rating, the tie-breakers are what is in the box and how the frame sits under ear muffs. That is why the two-lens and three-lens kits outrank single-lens frames: a clear lens for an indoor bay and a smoke lens for a bright outdoor line is two ranges solved for one purchase. The Hamel places last on rating grounds only. On lens choice it is the most interesting frame here, because Edge will sell it to you polarized or photochromic behind the same ballistic pass.

What the Army list adds

The Authorized Protective Eyewear List is managed by the Army's program office, and the Army is blunt about what it is for: the APEL logo marks eyewear soldiers are authorized to wear. A listing implies a MIL-PRF-32432 fragmentation pass on the tested configuration, which is why it sits at the top of this site's tiers. Two cautions. A listing applies to a configuration, not a brand — a different lens or a different frame size may not be listed. And plenty of excellent ballistic eyewear was never submitted, which is why four non-APEL frames are on this page at all. The detail is in the APEL guide.

What ballistic does not mean

The second thing it does not mean: comfort. A ballistic lens is thicker than a shop lens, the frames wrap harder, and thick temples fight ear muffs. Two of the six here publish thin-temple designs for exactly that reason. If you shoot with muffs on, read the ear-muff fit page before you choose.

If you buy one

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 01

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Best ballistic glasses overall

ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

APEL8.6 /10

APEL-listed on the APEL kit page, MIL-PRF-32432A stated, clear plus smoke in the box, tool-free lens swap, three documented Rx inserts.

How the 8.6 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
10
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
8
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
8
Value (15%)
8

What the spec page supports

  • APEL listing and MIL-PRF-32432A stated by the maker on the APEL kit page
  • Clear and smoke lenses in the box; tool-free DedBolt swap
  • Three documented Rx-insert options (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC)
  • Named anti-fog / anti-scratch coating (ClearZone FlowCoat)

Where it falls short

  • Lens material, thickness, weight and warranty are not stated on the product pages
  • The plain 2LS kit page lists ANSI Z87+ and OSHA but not the MIL-PRF wording — buy the APEL SKU if the Army listing matters to you
  • Universal fit only; no small or large size

Skip this if…

…you have a narrow face — the Crossbow comes in one universal size, and the Sawfly's Small or a youth frame will seal better.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

Rank 02

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Best ballistic kit for a small or large face

Revision StingerHawk

APEL8.3 /10

APEL kit that cites the MIL-PRF-32432A clause by number and offers regular and large sizes — the most specific rating language of any pair here.

How the 8.3 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
10
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
8
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
8
Value (15%)
6

What the spec page supports

  • Clause-level citations for both standards and a published V50 — nobody else on this list gives you the number
  • APEL kit with two lenses, strap, case and an Rx carrier route
  • Two sizes, each with stated dimensions
  • Named anti-fog coating (OcuMax)

Where it falls short

  • The APEL military kit page notes military verification for purchase; the civilian StingerHawk kits carry the same frame and are sold openly
  • Weight and lens thickness not stated
  • Premium price

Skip this if…

…you are buying one pair for occasional range days — the Sawfly and the Crossbow carry the same clause-cited rating for less.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Revision StingerHawk

Rank 03

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Best value in a ballistic frame

Wiley X Saber Advanced

MIL-PRF-32432A8.1 /10

MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+ on the maker's page, changeable lenses, a foam brow insert and a lifetime warranty, listed from $58.

EvidenceResearched · not worn by us

Rating tierMIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list.
Impact ratingANSI Z87.1+ ("optical clarity and high mass/high velocity impact standards")
Ballistic standard"MIL-PRF-32432A Ballistic safety standards"
Lens systemChangeable / interchangeable lens system; "foam insert on changeable lens"
Fit / sizeHigh-wrap frame; flexible adjustable nose piece
Frame widthLens width 138 mm; lens height 50 mm; bridge 25 mm; temple 114 mm
UV100% UVA/UVB
WarrantyLifetime warranty
How the 8.1 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
9
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
7
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
7
Value (15%)
9

What the spec page supports

  • MIL-PRF-32432A and ANSI Z87.1+ both stated on the product page
  • Lens swaps without tools; clear, smoke and other tints sold as changeable lenses
  • Foam brow insert closes the gap above the lens that sweat and casings find
  • Lifetime warranty

Where it falls short

  • Weight and lens material are not published on the product page
  • Rx insert availability is not stated on the product page
  • 138 mm lens width runs large on narrow faces

Skip this if…

…you need an Rx insert route the maker documents on the product page, or you have a narrow face — the 138 mm lens is a full-size frame.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X Saber Advanced

Rank 04

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Best ballistic optics

Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0

MIL-PRF-324328.0 /10

Plutonite lenses and the Thin Stem temple; the rating is quoted from a retailer listing because Oakley's own page blocks our reader, and it is deliberately not badged APEL.

EvidenceResearched · not worn by us

Rating tierMIL-PRF-32432. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list.
Impact ratingANSI Z87.1 (as listed by the retailer)
Ballistic standardMIL-PRF-32432 (as listed by the retailer)
Lens materialPlutonite
Lens systemModular lens system; Clear, Gray and Prizm Gray lens options
Temples"Thin Stem Technology — designed for compatibility with over-ear protection and communication systems without pressure points"
CoatingsAnti-fog coating
UV"Filters 100% of all UVA, UVB, UVC, and harmful blue light up to 400nm"
How the 8.0 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
8
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
9
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
9
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
7
Value (15%)
6

What the spec page supports

  • Thin Stem temples described specifically for over-ear protection and comms
  • Modular lens system with clear, gray and Prizm options
  • High Definition Optics claim and a 400 nm UV cutoff
  • Long service history as issued eyewear

Where it falls short

  • We could not read Oakley's own page or the Army APEL page — ratings are quoted from a retailer listing and we do not mark it APEL here
  • Rx insert availability not stated on the listing
  • Premium price for the same MIL-PRF tier as the Saber Advanced

Skip this if…

…you want the rating and APEL status straight from a page you can read yourself — the ESS Crossbow APEL kit states both on the maker's site.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0

Rank 05

Illustrative stock photo: black sport sunglasses with a case on a dark surfaceStock photo

Best ballistic wrap for everyday carry

Magpul Defiant

MIL-PRF-32432 (tested to)8.1 /10

Z87+ and "tested to MIL-PRF-32432" per the NRA launch article, in a frame that does not announce itself.

How the 8.1 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
8
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
9
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
8
Value (15%)
7

What the spec page supports

  • Temples explicitly designed around over-the-ear hearing protection
  • Inside anti-reflective coating — the reflection off the back of a lens is a real annoyance on a bright range
  • Removable lenses; DAKA hard case in the box
  • Fits medium-to-large faces by design

Where it falls short

  • Magpul's own site blocked our reader; the ratings are quoted from press coverage and read "tested to", not "certified"
  • Sold as a sunglass — no clear lens bundled for indoor use
  • No Rx route stated

Skip this if…

…you want "certified" rather than "tested to" wording, or an APEL logo — Revision and ESS state both outright.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Magpul Defiant

Rank 06

Illustrative stock photo: black sport sunglasses with a case on a dark surfaceStock photo

Best ballistic frame with a polarized or photochromic lens

Edge Hamel

MIL-PRF-32432A8.7 /10

MIL-PRF 32432-A with six Vapor Shield lens options — including polarized smoke and photochromic — on temples cut thin for ear muffs.

How the 8.7 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
9
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
9
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
9
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
8
Value (15%)
8

What the spec page supports

  • MIL-PRF 32432-A and Z87.1+ both stated by the maker, with MCEPS GL-PD 10-12 on the retailer listing
  • A polarized lens and a photochromic lens for the same ballistic frame — almost nobody offers both
  • Vapor Shield anti-fog is infused into the lens, not wiped onto it, and Edge says so plainly
  • 140 mm thin temples: cut for a muff cup and a helmet, which is the whole point of the model

Where it falls short

  • Availability is the weak point: several frame and lens combinations showed unavailable on Edge's own store on 2026-09-26
  • Lenses are separate SKUs — the polarized or photochromic version is a buying decision, not a box of spares
  • Weight is not published, and there is no documented Rx insert

Skip this if…

…you want every tint in one box — this is a one-lens frame sold per tint, and a 2LS or 3LS kit hands you two or three lenses for similar money.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Edge Hamel

The four-line check before you buy

One: find the standard on the maker's own page, in its own words, with an edition year. Two: check whether the rating belongs to the configuration you are buying — the lens, the frame size, the kit. Three: decide on lenses before you decide on brand, because a single smoke lens is useless in an indoor bay. Four: if you wear muffs, comms or a helmet, look for the words thin, flat or low-profile in the temple description. A pair that fails the fourth line is a pair you will take off.

How Lens & Lead rates eyewear

Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • First edition. Every rating re-read on the maker's page (or a labeled retailer page) on 2026-09-26.

Questions

Frequently asked

What is the difference between ballistic glasses and safety glasses?

The test. Safety glasses are certified to ANSI Z87.1, whose high-velocity test uses a quarter-inch steel ball at about 150 ft/s. Ballistic glasses add MIL-PRF-32432, which Edge describes as a 22-caliber projectile at more than 660 ft/s. Nearly all ballistic eyewear is also Z87.1 rated; the reverse is rare.

Are ballistic glasses bulletproof?

No. MIL-PRF-32432 is a fragmentation standard built around blast debris and fragment simulators, not rifle or pistol rounds. No eyewear stops a bullet.

Do I need MIL-PRF glasses for a paper-target range?

Not strictly — a Z87.1+ pair covers a supervised paper line. Step up to MIL-PRF for steel targets, reactive targets, air guns, anything indoors with a hard back wall, and for children.

Is APEL better than MIL-PRF-32432?

An APEL listing implies a MIL-PRF-32432 pass plus Army acceptance of that configuration for issue, so it is stronger evidence. It is not a higher impact requirement, and many good MIL-PRF frames were never submitted for listing.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. ESS EyePro — Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL page (ANSI Z87.1+ 2015, MIL-PRF-32432A, APEL) (checked 2026-09-21)
  2. ESS EyePro — Crossbow 2LS Kit page (ANSI Z87+ 2020, ClearZone FlowCoat, U-Rx / Vice inserts, Tri-Tech Fit) (checked 2026-09-21)
  3. Revision Military — StingerHawk Eyewear APEL U.S. Military Kit page (MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1, ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1, V50, EN 166, sizes, OcuMax) (checked 2026-09-21)
  4. Wiley X — Saber Advanced product page (ratings, frame measurements, warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
  5. Shellback Tactical — Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0 listing (ANSI Z87.1, MIL-PRF-32432, Thin Stem, Plutonite, UV) (checked 2026-09-21)
  6. Shooting Sports USA (NRA) — New: Magpul Defiant Eyewear (Z87+, tested to MIL-PRF-32432, TR90NZZ, temple design, coatings) (checked 2026-09-21)
  7. Edge Eyewear — Hamel tactical eyewear page ("MIL-PRF 32432-A"; "ANSI Z87.1+"; EN166; UKCA; CSA Z94.3; Polarized Smoke, Photochromic, G-15, Clear and Tigers Eye Vapor Shield lens options; "block 99.9% of UVA, UVB and UVC rays"; thin temples that integrate with "helmets, hats or hearing protection"; 66 mm lens width, 140 mm temple; $71.88) (checked 2026-09-26)
  8. Edge Eyewear — tactical eyewear collection page ("Eyewear tested for compliance with the MIL-PRF-32432 standard must withstand the impact of a 22-caliber projectile traveling at more than 660 feet per second"; MIL-PRF-32432 described as a classification of MCEPS) (checked 2026-09-26)
  9. U.S. Army — Effective Eye Protection Preserves Sight to Fight (APEL managed by PEO Soldier / MCEP; the APEL logo marks authorized eyewear) (checked 2026-09-21)
  10. MSC Industrial Supply — Understanding ANSI Z87.1 (high-mass 500 g from 4 ft; high-velocity steel ball at 102 mph; Z87+ and U/L/W/H/D/X markings) (checked 2026-09-21)
  11. Wikipedia — Ballistic eyewear (MIL-PRF-31013 0.15 cal T37 at 640–660 ft/s for spectacles; 0.22 cal at 550–560 ft/s for goggles; Z87 vs Z87+ marking) (checked 2026-09-21)

We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.

Back to Shooting Glasses