Prescription / The rankings
The best shooting glasses with Rx inserts: six ballistic frames whose makers document the carrier
An insert only counts if the maker sells one for that frame and says so. These six do. Ranked by the rating on the page, then by the insert options, then by what else is in the box.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-page researched, not worn by us
#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Rating | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit Three insert routes documented behind an APEL-listed, MIL-PRF-32432A lens with a named anti-fog coating. | Best shooting glasses with Rx inserts overall | APEL | 8.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Revision StingerHawk Rx carrier with a spec sheet, clause-cited ratings, APEL, two sizes. | Best-documented insert frame | APEL | 8.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Wiley X WX Vapor "Rx-ready" on a MIL-PRF-32432A frame with thin dual-injected temples for muffs. | Best thin-temple insert frame | MIL-PRF-32432A | 8.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() ESS ICE-3LS Kit U-Rx and Vice inserts, three lenses, telescoping temples for headborne gear. | Best insert kit for muffs | MIL-PRF-32432A | 8.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Revision Sawfly (1 Lens Kit) Rx carrier documented; Small, Regular and Large with published dimensions. | Best insert frame in three sizes | MIL-PRF-32432A | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() ESS Crosshair 3LS Kit URX insert with carrier and lens pricing stated by ESS; three lenses in the box. | Best full-wrap insert kit | MIL-PRF-32432 | 7.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Ratings are quoted from the maker's page (or the retailer's, where labeled); scores are our editorial judgment from those pages, not tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

How an insert works
The maker sells a small frame — the carrier — that clips inside the shooting glasses behind the ballistic lens. Your optician glazes it with your prescription. You look through two lenses: your prescription, then the rated shield. The shield is exactly the lens the maker tested, so its rating stands; you can swap the outer tint over one prescription; and the prescription is out of the impact path. The trade-offs — fog between the surfaces, a strength limit, a slightly narrower corrected field — are laid out on the prescription guide.
The insert table
| Frame | Insert(s) the maker names | Rating stated | Lenses in the box |
|---|---|---|---|
| ESS Crossbow | U-Rx Insert, Vice Insert, UPLC | Z87.1+; MIL-PRF-32432A; APEL (APEL kit) | Clear + smoke (2LS) |
| Revision StingerHawk | Rx carrier (spec sheet on page) | Z87.1-2020 cl. 7.1; MIL-PRF-32432A cl. 3.8.4.1; APEL | Clear + gray |
| Wiley X Vapor | RX Insert ("Rx-ready") | Z87.1+; MIL-PRF-32432A | Interchangeable system |
| ESS ICE-3LS | U-Rx Insert, Vice Rx Insert | Z87.1; MIL-PRF-32432A | Clear + smoke + Hi-Def yellow |
| Revision Sawfly | Rx Carrier | Z87.1-2020 cl. 7.1; MIL-PRF-32432A cl. 3.8.4.1 | One lens (1 Lens Kit) |
| ESS Crosshair 3LS | URX Insert (carrier + lenses priced on page) | Z87.1-2015; MIL-PRF-32432 | Smoke + clear + Hi-Def yellow |
Insert names and ratings as stated on each maker's product page, linked from every card.
Why the order
Rating first: the Crossbow and StingerHawk both carry an APEL listing on the page we cite, and the Crossbow adds three insert routes to the StingerHawk's one. The Vapor is the only Wiley X with a documented insert and the one with thin temples, which is the difference under muffs. The ICE brings three lenses and the telescoping temples; the Sawfly brings three sizes; the Crosshair brings a full-wrap frame and the clearest insert pricing on any page we read. Every one states a MIL-PRF pass. What the tiers mean is on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
What inserts cannot do
- Very strong prescriptions. A thick lens in a small carrier close to the eye has limits; ask the optician before buying the frame.
- Progressives, mostly. The carrier is small; a progressive corridor in it is a compromise. Bifocal and top-focal safety lenses are on best bifocal shooting glasses.
- Fog. Two surfaces close together fog first. A named coating on the outer lens (ESS ClearZone FlowCoat, Revision OcuMax) is worth its line here more than anywhere.
The mistake buyers make
If you buy one
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 01
Stock photoBest shooting glasses with Rx inserts overall
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
Three insert routes documented behind an APEL-listed, MIL-PRF-32432A lens with a named anti-fog coating.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | APEL. Listed on the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List. The Army tested this configuration to MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic fragmentation and approved it for issue. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87+ 2020" (2LS kit page); "ANSI Z87.1+ 2015 Edition" (APEL kit page) |
| Ballistic standard | "U.S. MIL-PRF-32432A" (APEL kit page, SKU 740-0386) |
| APEL | "APEL (Authorized Protective Eyewear List) approved" — the Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL kit |
| Lens system | "Patented DedBolt Lens Lock" for quick exchange |
| Lenses included | Fully assembled frame with Smoke Gray lens plus a Clear lens (2LS); the APEL kit ships two assembled eyeshields, hard case and pouch |
| Rx insert | "Prescription compatible with the ESS U-Rx Insert, ESS Vice Insert, and UPLC" |
| Fit / size | "Tri-Tech Fit ergonomics offer universal comfort and stability. Universal Fit." |
| Coatings | "ClearZone FlowCoat technology minimizes scratches and provides unmatched anti-fog capability" |
How the 8.6 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 10
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- APEL listing and MIL-PRF-32432A stated by the maker on the APEL kit page
- Clear and smoke lenses in the box; tool-free DedBolt swap
- Three documented Rx-insert options (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC)
- Named anti-fog / anti-scratch coating (ClearZone FlowCoat)
Where it falls short
- Lens material, thickness, weight and warranty are not stated on the product pages
- The plain 2LS kit page lists ANSI Z87+ and OSHA but not the MIL-PRF wording — buy the APEL SKU if the Army listing matters to you
- Universal fit only; no small or large size
Skip this if…
…you have a narrow face — the Crossbow comes in one universal size, and the Sawfly's Small or a youth frame will seal better.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
Rank 02
Stock photoBest-documented insert frame
Revision StingerHawk
Rx carrier with a spec sheet, clause-cited ratings, APEL, two sizes.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | APEL. Listed on the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List. The Army tested this configuration to MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic fragmentation and approved it for issue. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1 Impact Protector (Z87+)" |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1 Ballistic fragmentation characteristics Class 1 spectacles"; "STANAG V50 = 807ft/s (246m/s)"; "EN 166 clause 7.3.4 Protection against high speed particles (FT)" |
| APEL | APEL U.S. Military Kit; Berry Compliant |
| Lenses included | Frame, Clear lens with clear adjustable nosepiece, Gray lens with black adjustable nosepiece, head strap, pouch, case, anti-fog cloth |
| Rx insert | Rx carrier available (spec sheet on the product page) |
| Fit / size | Regular and Large sizes |
| Coatings | "OcuMax Anti-Fog Coating" |
| UV | "100% protection from harmful UV-A, B and C rays" |
How the 8.3 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 10
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 6
What the spec page supports
- Clause-level citations for both standards and a published V50 — nobody else on this list gives you the number
- APEL kit with two lenses, strap, case and an Rx carrier route
- Two sizes, each with stated dimensions
- Named anti-fog coating (OcuMax)
Where it falls short
- The APEL military kit page notes military verification for purchase; the civilian StingerHawk kits carry the same frame and are sold openly
- Weight and lens thickness not stated
- Premium price
Skip this if…
…you are buying one pair for occasional range days — the Sawfly and the Crossbow carry the same clause-cited rating for less.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Revision StingerHawk
Rank 03
Stock photoBest thin-temple insert frame
Wiley X WX Vapor
"Rx-ready" on a MIL-PRF-32432A frame with thin dual-injected temples for muffs.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1+ |
| Ballistic standard | MIL-PRF-32432A |
| Lens system | Interchangeable lens system |
| Rx insert | "Rx-ready" — RX insert available |
| Temples | Dual-injected rubber temples, thin design |
| Fit / size | Universal fit; adjustable nose piece; high-wrap frame |
| Frame width | Lens width 63 mm; lens height 40 mm; bridge 25 mm; temple 133 mm |
| Coatings | Anti-fog treatment |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty |
How the 8.4 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 9
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 7
What the spec page supports
- MIL-PRF-32432A plus ANSI Z87.1+ on the maker's page
- Rx insert documented by the maker — a prescription route that keeps the ballistic lens
- Thin dual-injected temples the maker describes as thin, for muffs and comms
- Interchangeable lenses and an anti-fog treatment
Where it falls short
- Costs more than the Saber Advanced for the same ballistic tier
- Weight not published
- Fewer bundled lenses than a 3-lens kit
Skip this if…
…you do not need the Rx insert or the thinner temples — the Saber Advanced carries the same MIL-PRF-32432A rating for less.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X WX Vapor
Rank 04
Stock photoBest insert kit for muffs
ESS ICE-3LS Kit
U-Rx and Vice inserts, three lenses, telescoping temples for headborne gear.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1 |
| Ballistic standard | MIL-PRF-32432A |
| Lens material | Polycarbonate |
| Lenses included | Clear, Smoke Gray, Hi-Def Yellow; elastic strap; anti-fog cloth; case |
| Rx insert | U-Rx Insert and Vice Rx Insert ("compatible with all eyeshields") |
| Temples | "Adjustable earbends with telescoping temples featuring bend-to-fit inner-wire ear tabs and snap-on leash system for improved fit with headborne equipment" |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
How the 8.2 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 9
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 6
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- Three-lens kit covers indoor, bright and flat light out of the box
- Thin telescoping temples the maker designs for headborne equipment — the reason it sits under muffs
- MIL-PRF-32432A and Rx-insert compatibility both stated
- Strap included for a goggle-style hold
Where it falls short
- Frameless lens edge is exposed; lens scratches show more than on a framed pair
- No named anti-fog coating on the page — a cloth is supplied instead
- Weight not published
Skip this if…
…you want a named anti-fog coating for a humid indoor range — the Crossbow's ClearZone FlowCoat is documented, the ICE's is not.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS ICE-3LS Kit
Rank 05
Stock photoBest insert frame in three sizes
Revision Sawfly (1 Lens Kit)
Rx carrier documented; Small, Regular and Large with published dimensions.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1 Impact Protector (Z87+)" |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1 Ballistic fragmentation characteristics Class 1 spectacles" |
| Lenses included | Frame with adjustable arms, lens with nosepiece, microfiber pouch (1 Lens Kit) |
| Rx insert | "Compatible with Sawfly interchangeable lenses and Rx Carrier" |
| Temples | "Lean, extendable arms guarantee a comfortable, stable fit and steady, equipment compatibility" |
| Fit / size | Small 144 mm W × 53 mm H × 165 mm L; Regular 144 × 52 × 165; Large 157 × 58 × 180 |
| UV | "100% protection from harmful UV-A, B and C rays" |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 7
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 10
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 5
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- Three sizes with published dimensions — the only way to buy a ballistic frame that actually fits a small or a large head
- Clause-cited MIL-PRF-32432A and ANSI Z87.1-2020
- Lean extendable arms for equipment compatibility
- Rx carrier documented
Where it falls short
- The 1 Lens Kit ships one lens; buy the second tint separately
- No anti-fog coating stated on this kit page
- Revision's category page says all models meet MIL-PRF-32432 and some are APEL; the Sawfly 1 Lens Kit page itself does not claim APEL, so we do not
Skip this if…
…you want two lenses and a named anti-fog coating in the box — the StingerHawk kit has both.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Revision Sawfly (1 Lens Kit)
Rank 06
Stock photoBest full-wrap insert kit
ESS Crosshair 3LS Kit
URX insert with carrier and lens pricing stated by ESS; three lenses in the box.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1-2015 |
| Ballistic standard | "U.S. MIL SPEC MIL-PRF-32432" |
| Lens material | Polycarbonate |
| Lenses included | Smoke Gray (fitted), Clear, Hi-Def Yellow; zippered case; snap-on retention strap; No-Fog cloth |
| Rx insert | Universal Prescription (URX) Insert available |
| Fit / size | Black Tri-Tech Fit frame |
| UV | "All ESS lenses provide 100% UVA/UVB protection" |
How the 7.8 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 6
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- Three lenses including Hi-Def Yellow for flat light
- MIL-PRF-32432 and ANSI Z87.1-2015 stated
- URX insert route documented with pricing
- Retention strap in the box
Where it falls short
- Not APEL-listed on the page we cite — the Crossbow is
- Temple design not described; nothing stated about ear-pro clearance
- Weight not published
Skip this if…
…the APEL logo matters to you — the Crossbow APEL kit carries it, the Crosshair page does not claim it.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crosshair 3LS Kit
Ordering an insert: the sequence
- Buy the frame whose page names the insert.
- Buy the maker's carrier for that frame — not a generic one.
- Take the carrier and your current prescription to an optician; ask for polycarbonate or Trivex lenses and confirm the carrier accepts your strength.
- Fit the carrier, then choose the outer tints; the prescription does not change when the tint does.
What the carrier and lenses cost, with the figures the makers publish, is on prescription shooting glasses cost.
How Lens & Lead rates eyewear
Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First edition.
Questions
Frequently asked
Which shooting glasses take prescription inserts?
On this site: ESS Crossbow, ICE and Crosshair; Wiley X Vapor; Revision StingerHawk and Sawfly — each documents its insert or carrier on the maker's page.
Do Rx inserts affect the ballistic rating?
No. The insert sits behind the maker's tested lens, which is unchanged, so the stated rating stands.
Can I use an Rx insert with a strong prescription?
Inserts have limits on strength and cylinder. Confirm with your optician using the maker's carrier before buying tints.
Keep reading
Related on Lens & Lead
Receipts
Sources
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow 2LS Kit page (ANSI Z87+ 2020, ClearZone FlowCoat, U-Rx / Vice inserts, Tri-Tech Fit) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL page (ANSI Z87.1+ 2015, MIL-PRF-32432A, APEL) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Revision Military — StingerHawk Eyewear APEL U.S. Military Kit page (MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1, ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1, V50, EN 166, sizes, OcuMax) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wiley X — WX Vapor product page (ratings, Rx insert, frame measurements) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — ICE-3LS Kit page (ANSI Z87.1, MIL-PRF-32432A, kit contents, Rx inserts, temples) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Revision Military — Sawfly Eyewear 1 Lens Kit page (MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1, ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1, sizes, Rx carrier) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crosshair 3LS Kit page (ANSI Z87.1-2015, MIL-PRF-32432, kit contents, URX insert) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wiley X — Saber Advanced product page (ratings, frame measurements, warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.