Fit & Youth / The rankings
The best youth shooting glasses: five frames for kids, ranked by rating and by whether the maker actually cut them smaller
A kid in adult glasses is a kid with a gap at the cheek and a frame sliding down the nose. Youth sizes exist for a reason. And for BB and air guns, the eye doctors say ballistic, so one of these is a goggle.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-page researched, not worn by us
#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Rating | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Walker's Clearview Youth "Engineered specifically for smaller heads", "exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2010 high-impact", 99% UV, cheap enough for a spare — the rimfire-range pair. | Best youth shooting glasses overall | Z87.1+ | 6.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Radians Ducks Unlimited DU-Y1 Youth Z87.1-2020 stated, "specifically designed to fit smaller heads and faces", flexible rubber-tipped temples. | Best current-edition youth frame | Z87.1 | 6.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Pyramex I-Force A strapped, sealed, dual-pane goggle the maker rates MIL-PRF-32432 and ASTM F2879 — what the AAO's guidance points to for air guns. | Best for BB, pellet and airsoft | MIL-PRF-32432 | 8.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Pyramex Mini Ztek Cut for slimmer faces, Z87.1-2020+, seven tints; a small adult frame rather than a child's. | Best for older kids and teens | Z87.1+ | 7.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Champion Traps & Targets Youth (40620) Widely stocked and cheap; rated Z87.1 per the retailer with no plus and no standard named despite 'Ballistic' in the title. | The well-known youth pair | Z87.1 | 5.4 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Ratings are quoted from the maker's page (or the retailer's, where labeled); scores are our editorial judgment from those pages, not tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Why youth sizes exist
An adult frame on a child's face rides on the temples, sits high on the bridge, and leaves a gap between the lens and the cheek that a bounced BB can find. The coverage that earned the rating on a test head is not on the child's head. A youth frame is narrower, shorter in the temple and lower at the cheek; Walker's says the Clearview Youth is "engineered specifically for smaller heads", Radians says the DU-Y1 is "specifically designed to fit smaller heads and faces", and Z87.1 itself has an "H" mark for frames made for smaller heads (see what Z87+ means). Wiley X's Youth Force line is sized for ages 5–16 but meets ASTM F803, the sports standard, rather than Z87.1+, so it is not on this list.
BB, pellet and airsoft: what the AAO says
The American Academy of Ophthalmology reports that hospital admissions for eye injuries from air guns rose 600% since 2010, that the average age of those injured fell from 16 to 9, and that about 3 in 10 young patients were left with vision worse than 20/50 after treatment. Its guidance on eyewear is direct: "Ballistic eyewear is the only protective eyewear designed for use with air guns and other weapons", and it cautions that ski goggles and civilian "Z"-rated safety eyewear are insufficient. A BB is small, light and fast, and it bounces; a sealed goggle with a strap and a MIL-PRF rating is the closest thing a parent can buy to that advice. The full data is on BB gun and air gun eye injuries.
Why the order
Rating and sizing together. The Clearview Youth and DU-Y1 both state a Z87.1 rating and a small cut on the maker's page — Walker's with the high-impact wording and a UV figure, Radians with the current 2020 edition. The I-Force is the only MIL-PRF product here and the only one built for air guns; it is one size, and it fits a child because it seals to the face with foam and a strap rather than relying on temple length. The Mini Ztek is a small adult frame with the current Z87.1-2020+ rating: right for a teenager, big on a nine-year-old. The Champion pair is everywhere and inexpensive, and its rating reaches us only through a retailer's "Z87.1 rated" with no plus, which is why it is last.
Fitting a child
- Put the glasses on the child and have them look down at their shoes. The frame should not slide.
- Look at the cheek from the side. No daylight between lens and skin.
- Put the muffs on over the glasses. Then have the child turn their head fast. Nothing should shift.
- Ask if it hurts anywhere. A child will take off a pair that pinches the moment you look away.
Rubber temple tips (DU-Y1, Mini Ztek) and a strap (I-Force) are the two features that keep a pair on a head that moves a lot.
The mistake parents make
If you buy one
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 01
Stock photoBest youth shooting glasses overall
Walker's Clearview Youth
"Engineered specifically for smaller heads", "exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2010 high-impact", 99% UV, cheap enough for a spare — the rimfire-range pair.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Z87.1+. ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 impact-rated: a 500 g pointed weight dropped from 50 in and a 1/4 in steel ball at 150 ft/s. The minimum for any pair on this site. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "Exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2010 high-impact requirement" |
| Lens material | Polycarbonate |
| Lens system | Yellow, or Clear/Gray |
| Fit / size | "Engineered specifically for smaller heads with wraparound design" |
| UV | "Provides 99% ultraviolet (UV) protection" |
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 6
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 6
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 4
- Value (15%)
- 10
What the spec page supports
- Sized for smaller heads by the maker, not just a small adult frame
- High-impact Z87.1 wording and a UV figure stated
- Cheap enough to buy a spare for the truck
Where it falls short
- No age range published
- No anti-fog coating stated
- Not a MIL-PRF pair — for BB and air guns the AAO points to ballistic-rated eyewear
Skip this if…
…the child shoots air guns or airsoft — a strapped, MIL-PRF-rated goggle like the I-Force closes the gaps a BB finds.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Walker's Clearview Youth
Rank 02
Stock photoBest current-edition youth frame
Radians Ducks Unlimited DU-Y1 Youth
Z87.1-2020 stated, "specifically designed to fit smaller heads and faces", flexible rubber-tipped temples.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Z87.1. The maker states ANSI Z87.1 without the '+' high-impact mark. Basic impact only; we treat it as the floor and say so. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020 |
| Lens system | Three styles: DU-Y1-1040C, DU-Y1-1020C, DU-Y1-3010C (tints not named on the page) |
| Temples | "Flexible temples with rubber tips" |
| Fit / size | "Specifically designed to fit smaller heads and faces"; sports-inspired lens shape; rubber nosepiece |
| UV | 99.9% |
How the 6.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 5
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 5
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 4
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- Current 2020 edition of Z87.1 cited by the maker
- Flexible rubber-tipped temples hold on a small head under muffs
- 99.9% UV stated
Where it falls short
- Tints are listed as style codes, not colors, on the page
- The page does not print the '+' mark; the impact-protection wording is 'impact protection compliant'
- No anti-fog stated
Skip this if…
…you need the tint spelled out before you buy — the Walker's and Pyramex pages name theirs.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Radians Ducks Unlimited DU-Y1 Youth
Rank 03
Stock photoBest for BB, pellet and airsoft
Pyramex I-Force
A strapped, sealed, dual-pane goggle the maker rates MIL-PRF-32432 and ASTM F2879 — what the AAO's guidance points to for air guns.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020 + High Impact; CAN/CSA Z94.3-2020; CE/UKCA EN 166 |
| Ballistic standard | MIL-PRF-32432 ("High Velocity Impact"); ASTM F2879-22 (airsoft) when worn with the strap |
| Lens system | "Outer polycarbonate lens protects against the environment, while inner acetate lens prevents fogging"; Clear, Gray, Amber, I/O Mirror |
| Temples | "Quick-release interchangeable temples and strap" |
| Fit / size | "Removable vented flame resistant foam carriage" |
| Coatings | Outer lens anti-fog treatment (H2X or standard) |
How the 8.4 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 7
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 10
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- Dual-pane lens is the most effective anti-fog design there is, and the maker names it
- MIL-PRF-32432 plus an airsoft-specific ASTM F2879 rating with the strap
- Strap plus foam seal — no gap for a ricocheting BB to find
- Four tints
Where it falls short
- A goggle: bulkier and warmer than spectacles for a long summer session
- Not stated to fit over prescription glasses
- Weight and UV not published
Skip this if…
…you need it over prescription glasses — Pyramex does not say it fits over them, and a stated OTG frame will.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Pyramex I-Force
Rank 04
Stock photoBest for older kids and teens
Pyramex Mini Ztek
Cut for slimmer faces, Z87.1-2020+, seven tints; a small adult frame rather than a child's.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Z87.1+. ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 impact-rated: a 500 g pointed weight dropped from 50 in and a 1/4 in steel ball at 150 ft/s. The minimum for any pair on this site. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020 + High Impact; CAN/CSA Z94.3-2020; CE/UKCA EN 166 |
| Lens system | Frameless with integrated nosepiece; Clear, Pink, Gray, Amber, Infinity Blue, Blue Mirror, I/O Mirror |
| Temples | "Soft, non-slip rubber temple tips provide non-binding fit" |
| Fit / size | "A design better suited for slimmer facial sizes" |
| Coatings | H2X Anti-fog treatment available (optional) |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 6
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 7
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 6
- Value (15%)
- 10
What the spec page supports
- Current Z87.1-2020+ rating on a frame the maker sizes for slimmer faces
- Seven tints — including a pink lens some young shooters actually want to wear
- Rubber temple tips; H2X anti-fog option
Where it falls short
- Not a MIL-PRF pair — for BB and air guns the AAO points to ballistic-rated eyewear
- No strap option stated
- Lens material and UV not stated on the page
Skip this if…
…the child is under about ten or the range is BB/air-gun — a strapped, foam-sealed goggle stays put and closes the gaps.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Pyramex Mini Ztek
Rank 05
Stock photoThe well-known youth pair
Champion Traps & Targets Youth (40620)
Widely stocked and cheap; rated Z87.1 per the retailer with no plus and no standard named despite 'Ballistic' in the title.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Z87.1. The maker states ANSI Z87.1 without the '+' high-impact mark. Basic impact only; we treat it as the floor and say so. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "OSHA compliant-max Z87.1 rated" (as listed by the retailer, model 40620; the title also says "Ballistic") |
| Lens system | Clear |
| Coatings | Scratch resistant |
| UV | UVA/UVB protection |
How the 5.4 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 4
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 4
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 4
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- Widely stocked youth frame at a low price
- Scratch-resistant clear lens with UVA/UVB
Where it falls short
- Rating wording comes from a retailer listing; no '+' mark, no edition, no ballistic standard named despite the word in the title
- Clear only
- No fit dimensions, coatings detail or age range
Skip this if…
…you want a rating you can read on the maker's own page — Walker's and Radians both publish theirs for their youth frames.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Champion Traps & Targets Youth (40620)
The youth checklist
- Does the maker say "smaller heads" or print a size? Walker's and Radians do. "Youth" in a title alone is a claim, not a dimension.
- Is the rating on the page? Z87.1 with a plus or "high impact" for the range; MIL-PRF for air guns.
- Rubber tips or a strap? One or the other keeps it on.
- Clear lens? Yes, for a first pair; tints are a later luxury.
For the shop, the yard and Nerf, the same frames in a different order are on best kids' safety glasses.
How Lens & Lead rates eyewear
Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First edition.
Questions
Frequently asked
What size shooting glasses does a child need?
A frame the maker cut for smaller heads — Walker's Clearview Youth and Radians DU-Y1 both say so on the page — or a sealed goggle with a strap that fits by seal rather than by temple length.
Are youth shooting glasses ballistic rated?
Most state Z87.1 only. On this list, the Pyramex I-Force goggle is the one that states MIL-PRF-32432, which is why it is the pick for BB, pellet and airsoft.
What glasses should a kid wear for a BB gun?
Per the American Academy of Ophthalmology, ballistic eyewear. A strapped, sealed goggle with a stated MIL-PRF-32432 rating — the Pyramex I-Force here — is the closest a parent can buy to that guidance.
Can kids wear adult safety glasses?
They can, but an adult frame usually gaps at the cheek and slides on a small nose, which removes the coverage the rating assumes. Youth-cut frames or a strapped goggle fit properly.
Keep reading
Related on Lens & Lead
Receipts
Sources
- Walker's — Clearview Youth page ("exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2010 high-impact requirement", smaller heads, 99% UV) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Radians — Ducks Unlimited DU-Y1 Youth Shooting Glass page (ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020, smaller heads, 99.9% UV) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Pyramex — I-Force dual-pane goggle page (ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020+, MIL-PRF-32432, ASTM F2879-22, dual pane, foam) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Pyramex — Mini Ztek page (ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020+, "slimmer facial sizes", tints, H2X) (checked 2026-09-21)
- DEGuns — Champion Traps and Targets Youth Clear Shooting Glasses (Ballistic) listing, model 40620 ("OSHA compliant-max Z87.1 rated", scratch resistant, UVA/UVB) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wiley X — Youth Force collection (ASTM F803 sport rating, ages 5–16) (checked 2026-09-21)
- American Academy of Ophthalmology — Combating Eye Injuries from Air Guns (checked 2026-09-21)
- MSC Industrial Supply — Understanding ANSI Z87.1 (high-mass 500 g from 4 ft; high-velocity steel ball at 102 mph; Z87+ and U/L/W/H/D/X markings) (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.