Range / Review
ESS Crossbow review: the issued eyeshield, and why the SKU you buy changes what the page promises
The Crossbow frame is one product line sold as several kits. The APEL kit page says APEL and MIL-PRF-32432A; the 2LS kit page says ANSI Z87+ and OSHA. Same frame, different paperwork. Here is how to read it.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-page researched, not worn by us
#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The verdict
The pair and its alternatives
Stock photoThe pair under review
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
APEL8.6 /10The APEL-listed frame Soldiers and Marines are issued: MIL-PRF-32432A on the APEL kit page, a clear plus smoke lens pair, DedBolt tool-free swaps and a documented Rx-insert path.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
Stock photoAlternative: the ESS for muffs
ESS ICE-3LS Kit
MIL-PRF-32432A8.2 /10Three lenses and telescoping temples for headborne gear; frameless; same maker, same inserts.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS ICE-3LS Kit
Stock photoAlternative: the other APEL kit
Revision StingerHawk
APEL8.3 /10Clause-cited ratings, a V50, two sizes, OcuMax coating.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Revision StingerHawk

One frame, several kits
ESS sells the Crossbow as a 2LS kit (frame with smoke lens, plus a clear lens), a 3LS kit, a Suppressor variant with thin temples for comms, and an APEL kit — "Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & w/Smoke Gray APEL", SKU 740-0386, which ships two fully assembled eyeshields, a hard case and a pouch. The frame and the ballistic lens are the same product line across all of them. The rating statement on the page is not.
The rating, page by page
The APEL kit page lists "ANSI Z87.1+ 2015 Edition", "U.S. MIL-PRF-32432A", "U.S. Federal OSHA", "CE EN 166" and "APEL (Authorized Protective Eyewear List) approved". The 2LS kit page lists "ANSI Z87+ 2020", "CE EN 166", OSHA and a "Battle Rated" badge, with no MIL-PRF number printed. That is not ESS being coy; the APEL listing belongs to a tested configuration, and ESS labels the SKU that carries it. Our rating column shows the Crossbow as APEL because the APEL kit page states it, and the card's Evidence table cites both pages so you can see which said what. What an APEL listing proves is on the APEL guide.
DedBolt and the lenses
The "patented DedBolt Lens Lock" is ESS's tool-free swap: the lens locks into the frame at the bridge and releases with a pull. The 2LS kit ships smoke gray fitted and clear in the box — the two tints that cover a bright field and an indoor bay. Hi-Def yellow and other tints are sold separately and on the 3LS kit. ESS describes the optics as "distortion-free" ("ESSOPTICS") without publishing an optical class. What to swap to, and when, is on the lens color guide.
ClearZone FlowCoat
ESS names its coating and describes it: "ClearZone FlowCoat technology minimizes scratches and provides unmatched anti-fog capability". A named coating with a stated function is worth more than a bare "anti-fog", and it is why the Crossbow ranks ahead of the ICE on a warm indoor bay. It is still a coating, not a dual-pane lens; the ranking of fixes is on how to stop shooting glasses fogging.
Three inserts
"Prescription compatible with the ESS U-Rx Insert, ESS Vice Insert, and UPLC." Three documented routes to put a prescription behind the ballistic lens, which keeps the rating in front of your eyes and the prescription out of the impact path. This is the single strongest reason to choose the Crossbow over a pair whose page does not mention Rx at all. The routes are compared on Rx inserts vs prescription lenses.
Tri-Tech Fit and the one-size caveat
ESS calls the frame "Tri-Tech Fit" and "Universal Fit": a frame designed to sit on most faces without pressure points. Universal is a promise and a limit. On a narrow face or a child, one size means the temples splay and the wrap sits off the cheek; Revision sells the Sawfly in Small for exactly that buyer, and the youth frames are on youth shooting glasses. Nothing on the Crossbow page describes the temples for ear muffs; the Suppressor variant exists for that, and the ICE has the telescoping temples.
What ESS does not publish
- Lens material and thickness (polycarbonate is stated for the ICE and Crosshair, not on the Crossbow pages we read).
- Weight.
- Frame dimensions.
- Warranty terms on the product page (linked separately).
- UV figure on the Crossbow pages (stated as 100% UVA/UVB on the Crosshair and ICE pages).
The alternatives
Against the Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0, see Oakley M Frame vs ESS Crossbow; against the Wiley X Saber Advanced, Wiley X vs ESS.
In detail
Spec page and score
Stock photoThe pair under review
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
The APEL-listed frame Soldiers and Marines are issued: MIL-PRF-32432A on the APEL kit page, a clear plus smoke lens pair, DedBolt tool-free swaps and a documented Rx-insert path.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | APEL. Listed on the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List. The Army tested this configuration to MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic fragmentation and approved it for issue. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87+ 2020" (2LS kit page); "ANSI Z87.1+ 2015 Edition" (APEL kit page) |
| Ballistic standard | "U.S. MIL-PRF-32432A" (APEL kit page, SKU 740-0386) |
| APEL | "APEL (Authorized Protective Eyewear List) approved" — the Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL kit |
| Lens system | "Patented DedBolt Lens Lock" for quick exchange |
| Lenses included | Fully assembled frame with Smoke Gray lens plus a Clear lens (2LS); the APEL kit ships two assembled eyeshields, hard case and pouch |
| Rx insert | "Prescription compatible with the ESS U-Rx Insert, ESS Vice Insert, and UPLC" |
| Fit / size | "Tri-Tech Fit ergonomics offer universal comfort and stability. Universal Fit." |
| Coatings | "ClearZone FlowCoat technology minimizes scratches and provides unmatched anti-fog capability" |
How the 8.6 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 10
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- APEL listing and MIL-PRF-32432A stated by the maker on the APEL kit page
- Clear and smoke lenses in the box; tool-free DedBolt swap
- Three documented Rx-insert options (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC)
- Named anti-fog / anti-scratch coating (ClearZone FlowCoat)
Where it falls short
- Lens material, thickness, weight and warranty are not stated on the product pages
- The plain 2LS kit page lists ANSI Z87+ and OSHA but not the MIL-PRF wording — buy the APEL SKU if the Army listing matters to you
- Universal fit only; no small or large size
Skip this if…
…you have a narrow face — the Crossbow comes in one universal size, and the Sawfly's Small or a youth frame will seal better.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
Stock photoAlternative: the ESS for muffs
ESS ICE-3LS Kit
Three lenses and telescoping temples for headborne gear; frameless; same maker, same inserts.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1 |
| Ballistic standard | MIL-PRF-32432A |
| Lens material | Polycarbonate |
| Lenses included | Clear, Smoke Gray, Hi-Def Yellow; elastic strap; anti-fog cloth; case |
| Rx insert | U-Rx Insert and Vice Rx Insert ("compatible with all eyeshields") |
| Temples | "Adjustable earbends with telescoping temples featuring bend-to-fit inner-wire ear tabs and snap-on leash system for improved fit with headborne equipment" |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
How the 8.2 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 9
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 6
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- Three-lens kit covers indoor, bright and flat light out of the box
- Thin telescoping temples the maker designs for headborne equipment — the reason it sits under muffs
- MIL-PRF-32432A and Rx-insert compatibility both stated
- Strap included for a goggle-style hold
Where it falls short
- Frameless lens edge is exposed; lens scratches show more than on a framed pair
- No named anti-fog coating on the page — a cloth is supplied instead
- Weight not published
Skip this if…
…you want a named anti-fog coating for a humid indoor range — the Crossbow's ClearZone FlowCoat is documented, the ICE's is not.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS ICE-3LS Kit
Stock photoAlternative: the other APEL kit
Revision StingerHawk
Clause-cited ratings, a V50, two sizes, OcuMax coating.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | APEL. Listed on the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List. The Army tested this configuration to MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic fragmentation and approved it for issue. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1 Impact Protector (Z87+)" |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1 Ballistic fragmentation characteristics Class 1 spectacles"; "STANAG V50 = 807ft/s (246m/s)"; "EN 166 clause 7.3.4 Protection against high speed particles (FT)" |
| APEL | APEL U.S. Military Kit; Berry Compliant |
| Lenses included | Frame, Clear lens with clear adjustable nosepiece, Gray lens with black adjustable nosepiece, head strap, pouch, case, anti-fog cloth |
| Rx insert | Rx carrier available (spec sheet on the product page) |
| Fit / size | Regular and Large sizes |
| Coatings | "OcuMax Anti-Fog Coating" |
| UV | "100% protection from harmful UV-A, B and C rays" |
How the 8.3 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 10
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 6
What the spec page supports
- Clause-level citations for both standards and a published V50 — nobody else on this list gives you the number
- APEL kit with two lenses, strap, case and an Rx carrier route
- Two sizes, each with stated dimensions
- Named anti-fog coating (OcuMax)
Where it falls short
- The APEL military kit page notes military verification for purchase; the civilian StingerHawk kits carry the same frame and are sold openly
- Weight and lens thickness not stated
- Premium price
Skip this if…
…you are buying one pair for occasional range days — the Sawfly and the Crossbow carry the same clause-cited rating for less.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Revision StingerHawk
How Lens & Lead rates eyewear
Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is the ESS Crossbow APEL approved?
The Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL kit (SKU 740-0386) page states "APEL (Authorized Protective Eyewear List) approved" and "U.S. MIL-PRF-32432A". The plain 2LS kit page states ANSI Z87+ 2020 and does not print the MIL-PRF number.
Can you put prescription lenses in an ESS Crossbow?
Yes, via insert: ESS lists the U-Rx Insert, the Vice Insert and the UPLC as compatible. The ballistic lens stays in front.
Does the ESS Crossbow fog?
ESS names its ClearZone FlowCoat anti-fog coating on the page. No coating is fog-proof in a sealed, warm bay; a dual-pane goggle is the cure.
What is the difference between the Crossbow and the Crossbow Suppressor?
The Suppressor is ESS's thin-temple variant for use with comms headsets and ear protection. Our registry covers the standard Crossbow; the ICE is our ESS pick for muffs.
Keep reading
Related on Lens & Lead
Receipts
Sources
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL page (ANSI Z87.1+ 2015, MIL-PRF-32432A, APEL) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow 2LS Kit page (ANSI Z87+ 2020, ClearZone FlowCoat, U-Rx / Vice inserts, Tri-Tech Fit) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — ICE-3LS Kit page (ANSI Z87.1, MIL-PRF-32432A, kit contents, Rx inserts, temples) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crosshair 3LS Kit page (ANSI Z87.1-2015, MIL-PRF-32432, kit contents, URX insert) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Revision Military — StingerHawk Eyewear APEL U.S. Military Kit page (MIL-PRF-32432A clause 3.8.4.1, ANSI Z87.1-2020 clause 7.1, V50, EN 166, sizes, OcuMax) (checked 2026-09-21)
- U.S. Army — Effective Eye Protection Preserves Sight to Fight (APEL managed by PEO Soldier / MCEP; the APEL logo marks authorized eyewear) (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.