Skip to content
Lens & Lead

Range / Head to head

ESS Crossbow vs Crosshair: the two kits, and the one difference that decides it

Same company, same ballistic standard, same prescription insert, two different frames. The decision comes down to APEL listing, published coatings and how much lens you want in front of your face.

#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

The contenders

Side by side

  • ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

    Buy this one

    ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

    APEL8.6 /10

    The only configuration here with an APEL listing on its own product page, plus MIL-PRF-32432A, the DedBolt lens lock and the ClearZone FlowCoat dual coating. The best-documented of the three by a clear margin.

    $107.77Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

  • ESS Crosshair 2X Kit

    Buy this for a smaller frame

    ESS Crosshair 2X Kit

    MIL-PRF-324327.8 /10

    ANSI Z87.1-2015 and MIL SPEC MIL-PRF-32432 stated, with the same Tri-Tech Fit frame geometry in a lower-profile shape and the URX insert available. ESS does not publish a coating for it, which is the gap to know about.

    $78.31Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crosshair 2X Kit

  • ESS ICE-3LS Kit

    The third option, for ear muffs

    ESS ICE-3LS Kit

    MIL-PRF-32432A8.2 /10

    Telescoping temples with bend-to-fit inner-wire ear tabs and a snap-on leash, which is why the ICE is the ESS kit we recommend under over-ear hearing protection. MIL-PRF-32432A stated; three lenses in the kit.

    $90.92Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to ESS ICE-3LS Kit

ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit — product photo via Amazon.

The short verdict

Buy the Crossbow if you want the strongest paper trail — an APEL-listed configuration, a named lens-lock system and a named dual coating. Buy the Crosshair if the Crossbow is too much frame for your face and you are willing to accept a thinner spec sheet to get a smaller one. Buy the ICE instead of either if the pair lives under ear muffs, because the ICE is the kit whose temples ESS designed to work with headborne equipment.

What you are not choosing between is protection levels. Both the Crossbow and the Crosshair state a MIL-PRF-32432 pass, which is a fragment-simulator test at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Either frame is well past what a civilian range requires — the standards are compared on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.

What ESS publishes for each

EvidenceESS Crossbow 2LS KitESS Crosshair 2X KitESS ICE-3LS Kit
Rating tierAPELAPELMIL-PRF-32432MIL-PRF-32432MIL-PRF-32432AMIL-PRF-32432A
Impact rating"ANSI Z87+ 2020" (2LS kit page); "ANSI Z87.1+ 2015 Edition" (APEL kit page)ANSI Z87.1-2015ANSI Z87.1
Ballistic standard"U.S. MIL-PRF-32432A" (APEL kit page, SKU 740-0386)"U.S. MIL SPEC MIL-PRF-32432"MIL-PRF-32432A
APEL"APEL (Authorized Protective Eyewear List) approved" — the Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL kit——
Lens system"Patented DedBolt Lens Lock" for quick exchange——
Lenses includedFully assembled frame with Smoke Gray lens plus a Clear lens (2LS); the APEL kit ships two assembled eyeshields, hard case and pouch. ESS also sells this two-lens configuration as the Crossbow 2X Kit, SKU 740-0504, which is the Crossbow kit stocked new on AmazonESS lists a Smoke Gray (fitted), Clear and Hi-Def Yellow 3LS kit; the Crosshair kit sold new on Amazon is the 2X — frame plus two lenses. Zippered case, snap-on retention strap and No-Fog cloth includedThree interchangeable lenses; ESS lists Clear, Smoke Gray and Hi-Def Yellow for the ICE-3LS kit, and the ICE Tactical Kit sold new on Amazon ships Clear, Gray and Hi-Def Copper. Elastic strap, anti-fog cloth and case included
Rx insert"Prescription compatible with the ESS U-Rx Insert, ESS Vice Insert, and UPLC"Universal Prescription (URX) Insert availableU-Rx Insert and Vice Rx Insert ("compatible with all eyeshields")
Temples——"Adjustable earbends with telescoping temples featuring bend-to-fit inner-wire ear tabs and snap-on leash system for improved fit with headborne equipment"
Fit / size"Tri-Tech Fit ergonomics offer universal comfort and stability. Universal Fit."Black Tri-Tech Fit frame—
Coatings"ClearZone FlowCoat technology minimizes scratches and provides unmatched anti-fog capability"——
UV—"All ESS lenses provide 100% UVA/UVB protection"100% UVA/UVB
Score8.6 / 107.8 / 108.2 / 10
Figures as published by the maker (or, where labeled, the retailer); each value links to its source. A dash means the figure isn't in our cited sources.

Every cell is quoted from the ESS page linked for that product. A dash means ESS does not publish the figure on the page we cite — the Crosshair's empty coating and temple cells are the substance of this comparison, not an oversight on our part.

The APEL difference

The APEL is the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List. Eyewear on it has been tested to the Army's requirements and authorized for issue, and the Army describes the APEL logo as the mark that identifies authorized eyewear. It is the strongest third-party signal available in this category, because it is not the maker's own claim about its own product.

ESS states APEL approval on a specific Crossbow configuration — the Black 2x kit with Clear and Smoke Gray lenses, SKU 740-0386 — and that is the page our APEL claim comes from. It does not state APEL on the Crosshair pages we read. Two consequences worth being precise about. First, APEL applies to a configuration, not to a model name: a different lens or frame color in the same family is not automatically listed. Second, the absence of an APEL statement is not evidence the Crosshair fails anything — it states MIL-PRF-32432 either way. It simply means the external verification exists for one and not the other.

If the listing matters to you — for a duty requirement, or simply because you want the independently checked option — the APEL-carrying products on this site are collected on the APEL approved eyewear list.

Coatings: one page says, one does not

For the Crossbow, ESS publishes the mechanism: "ClearZone FlowCoat technology minimizes scratches and provides unmatched anti-fog capability". That is a dual coating — hard outside, anti-fog inside — and on a kit you will own for years it is the feature that decides whether the lens is still usable in year three.

For the Crosshair, the page we cite lists the rating, the lens material, the kit contents, the URX insert and the Tri-Tech Fit frame, and says nothing about a coating. ESS does state that all its lenses provide 100% UVA/UVB protection, so the Crosshair is not short on UV. But on fog and scratch we have no published claim and will not invent one. In practice, assume you may be adding anti-fog treatment yourself — the options are on how to stop glasses fogging, and if the lens picks up marks early the retirement thresholds are on when to replace shooting glasses.

Frame size and sight picture

Both frames use what ESS calls Tri-Tech Fit, which it describes on the Crossbow as ergonomics offering universal comfort and stability. The difference is shape. The Crossbow is a tall, high-wrap single-lens eyeshield — maximum coverage, maximum peripheral protection, and a lot of lens area in your field of view. The Crosshair is the lower-profile shape in the ESS line, which is why we label it the low-profile ballistic kit.

That matters in two situations. On a narrow or smaller face, a tall eyeshield sits low on the cheek and high on the brow, and the result is contact points rather than a seal — the frames that fit smaller faces are ranked on best shooting glasses for small faces. And for a shotgun shooter mounting a gun, a shallower lens keeps the bottom rim out of the sight line when your head comes down on the comb. Rifle and pistol shooters generally prefer the extra coverage.

If the pair has to live under over-ear hearing protection, neither of these is our first choice in the ESS line: that is the ICE, whose temples ESS describes as telescoping with bend-to-fit inner-wire ear tabs for improved fit with headborne equipment. The whole muff-fit problem is on best shooting glasses for ear muffs.

Prescription inserts

Both take an insert, and this is where the ESS ecosystem is genuinely strong. The Crossbow page lists compatibility with the ESS U-Rx Insert, the ESS Vice Insert and the UPLC; the Crosshair page lists the Universal Prescription (URX) Insert. Either way you keep the ballistic lens in front of your prescription rather than grinding a prescription into a lens and hoping the rating survives.

The trade-offs of an insert — a second surface to fog, a small reduction in field of view, and the fact that your optician has to work to the carrier rather than a frame — are covered on Rx inserts vs prescription lenses, and the insert-ready platforms are ranked on best shooting glasses with Rx inserts.

Which one you should buy

Take the Crossbow if you want the best-documented ESS kit: APEL on a stated configuration, MIL-PRF-32432A, the DedBolt lens lock for fast lens changes and a named dual coating. For most readers of this site that is the correct answer, and it is why the Crossbow carries our ESS review on the ESS Crossbow review.

Take the Crosshair if the Crossbow is too tall for your face or you shoot a shotgun and want the bottom rim out of your mount. You keep the ballistic standard and the insert path; you give up the APEL statement and the published coating.

Take neither if the pair lives under muffs — buy the ICE, or convert a Crossbow with the ultra-thin Suppressor frame compared on Crossbow vs Suppressor — or if you want to compare ESS against the other ballistic frames in this class, which is the job of Wiley X vs ESS and Oakley M Frame vs ESS Crossbow.

In detail

The contenders, in full

ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

Buy this one

ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

APEL8.6 /10

The only configuration here with an APEL listing on its own product page, plus MIL-PRF-32432A, the DedBolt lens lock and the ClearZone FlowCoat dual coating. The best-documented of the three by a clear margin.

How the 8.6 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
10
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
8
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
8
Value (15%)
8

What the spec page supports

  • APEL listing and MIL-PRF-32432A stated by the maker on the APEL kit page
  • Clear and smoke lenses in the box; tool-free DedBolt swap
  • Three documented Rx-insert options (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC)
  • Named anti-fog / anti-scratch coating (ClearZone FlowCoat)

Where it falls short

  • Lens material, thickness, weight and warranty are not stated on the product pages
  • The plain 2LS kit page lists ANSI Z87+ and OSHA but not the MIL-PRF wording — buy the APEL SKU if the Army listing matters to you
  • Universal fit only; no small or large size

Skip this if…

…you have a narrow face — the Crossbow comes in one universal size, and the Sawfly's Small or a youth frame will seal better.

$107.77View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

ESS Crosshair 2X Kit

Buy this for a smaller frame

ESS Crosshair 2X Kit

MIL-PRF-324327.8 /10

ANSI Z87.1-2015 and MIL SPEC MIL-PRF-32432 stated, with the same Tri-Tech Fit frame geometry in a lower-profile shape and the URX insert available. ESS does not publish a coating for it, which is the gap to know about.

EvidenceResearched · maker specs & standards

Rating tierMIL-PRF-32432. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list.
Impact ratingANSI Z87.1-2015
Ballistic standard"U.S. MIL SPEC MIL-PRF-32432"
Lens materialPolycarbonate
Lenses includedESS lists a Smoke Gray (fitted), Clear and Hi-Def Yellow 3LS kit; the Crosshair kit sold new on Amazon is the 2X — frame plus two lenses. Zippered case, snap-on retention strap and No-Fog cloth included
Rx insertUniversal Prescription (URX) Insert available
Fit / sizeBlack Tri-Tech Fit frame
UV"All ESS lenses provide 100% UVA/UVB protection"
How the 7.8 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
9
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
7
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
6
Value (15%)
8

What the spec page supports

  • The same Tri-Tech Fit frame as the Crossbow in a lower-profile shape
  • MIL-PRF-32432 and ANSI Z87.1-2015 stated
  • URX insert route documented with pricing
  • Retention strap in the box

Where it falls short

  • The kit stocked on Amazon is the two-lens 2X, not the three-lens 3LS set ESS lists on its own page
  • Not APEL-listed on the page we cite — the Crossbow is
  • Temple design not described; nothing stated about ear-pro clearance
  • Weight not published

Skip this if…

…the APEL logo matters to you — the Crossbow APEL kit carries it, the Crosshair page does not claim it.

$78.31View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crosshair 2X Kit

ESS ICE-3LS Kit

The third option, for ear muffs

ESS ICE-3LS Kit

MIL-PRF-32432A8.2 /10

Telescoping temples with bend-to-fit inner-wire ear tabs and a snap-on leash, which is why the ICE is the ESS kit we recommend under over-ear hearing protection. MIL-PRF-32432A stated; three lenses in the kit.

EvidenceResearched · maker specs & standards

Rating tierMIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list.
Impact ratingANSI Z87.1
Ballistic standardMIL-PRF-32432A
Lens materialPolycarbonate
Lenses includedThree interchangeable lenses; ESS lists Clear, Smoke Gray and Hi-Def Yellow for the ICE-3LS kit, and the ICE Tactical Kit sold new on Amazon ships Clear, Gray and Hi-Def Copper. Elastic strap, anti-fog cloth and case included
Rx insertU-Rx Insert and Vice Rx Insert ("compatible with all eyeshields")
Temples"Adjustable earbends with telescoping temples featuring bend-to-fit inner-wire ear tabs and snap-on leash system for improved fit with headborne equipment"
UV100% UVA/UVB
How the 8.2 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
9
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
9
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
6
Value (15%)
8

What the spec page supports

  • Three-lens kit covers indoor, bright and flat light out of the box
  • Check the lens set on the listing: the kit stocked on Amazon is Clear / Gray / Hi-Def Copper, not the Hi-Def Yellow set ESS lists on its own page
  • Thin telescoping temples the maker designs for headborne equipment — the reason it sits under muffs
  • MIL-PRF-32432A and Rx-insert compatibility both stated
  • Strap included for a goggle-style hold

Where it falls short

  • Frameless lens edge is exposed; lens scratches show more than on a framed pair
  • No named anti-fog coating on the page — a cloth is supplied instead
  • Weight not published

Skip this if…

…you want a named anti-fog coating for a humid indoor range — the Crossbow's ClearZone FlowCoat is documented, the ICE's is not.

$90.92View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to ESS ICE-3LS Kit

How Lens & Lead rates eyewear

How these picks were chosen

Every pair here is picked from the certification its maker publishes and repeats in its own wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), the lens system and the tints in the box, whether the temples are described for ear muffs, and whether an Rx route exists — then scored on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to the page it came from, so you can confirm the protection before you buy. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, and the rating, the lens system and the fit are what move a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Is the ESS Crossbow or Crosshair better?

The Crossbow, for most buyers: it is the one with an APEL-listed configuration, a named lens-lock system and the ClearZone FlowCoat anti-scratch and anti-fog coating. The Crosshair is the better pick only if you want a lower-profile frame — it states the same MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic pass.

Are ESS Crossbow and Crosshair lenses interchangeable?

No. ESS sells lenses per eyeshield family — Crossbow lenses for Crossbow frames, Crosshair lenses for Crosshair frames, Profile Series lenses for the Profile goggle. Buy replacement lenses by the frame name, not by tint alone.

Is the ESS Crosshair APEL approved?

ESS does not state an APEL listing on the Crosshair page we cite, so we do not claim one. It does state ANSI Z87.1-2015 and MIL SPEC MIL-PRF-32432. The APEL statement we quote belongs to a specific Crossbow configuration, SKU 740-0386.

Do both ESS kits take a prescription insert?

Yes. ESS lists the U-Rx, Vice and UPLC inserts for the Crossbow and the Universal Prescription (URX) insert for the Crosshair, so both keep the ballistic lens outside your prescription rather than inside it.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. ESS EyePro — Crossbow 2LS Kit page (ANSI Z87+ 2020, ClearZone FlowCoat, U-Rx / Vice inserts, Tri-Tech Fit) (checked 2026-09-21)
  2. ESS EyePro — Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL page (ANSI Z87.1+ 2015, MIL-PRF-32432A, APEL) (checked 2026-09-21)
  3. ESS EyePro — Crosshair 3LS Kit page (ANSI Z87.1-2015, MIL-PRF-32432, kit contents, URX insert) (checked 2026-09-21)
  4. ESS EyePro — ICE-3LS Kit page (ANSI Z87.1, MIL-PRF-32432A, kit contents, Rx inserts, temples) (checked 2026-09-21)
  5. ESS EyePro — Profile NVG Black w/Clear & Smoke Gray page, SKU 740-0499 (ANSI Z87.1-2015, MIL-PRF-32432, EN 166, 2.8 mm polycarbonate, kit contents, Rx inserts, Outrigger strap, ClearZone FlowCoat) (checked 2026-09-21)
  6. U.S. Army — Effective Eye Protection Preserves Sight to Fight (APEL managed by PEO Soldier / MCEP; the APEL logo marks authorized eyewear) (checked 2026-09-21)
  7. Wikipedia — Authorized Protective Eyewear List (overview; PM SPIE; MIL-PRF-32432 fragmentation testing) (checked 2026-09-21)
  8. ISEA — ISEA publishes ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020 eye and face protection standard update (anti-fog criteria, relaxed optics, marking) (checked 2026-09-21)

Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages and manuals (linked on every product), with the published safety standards behind them, and a labeled retailer or press page where the maker's own page was unavailable. Every buy button opens today's live Amazon price. Read the full method.

Back to Shooting Glasses