Range / Gift guide
Gifts for new gun owners: the rated eye protection nobody sold them with the gun
A new owner leaves the store with a firearm, a box of ammo and no glasses. The range will lend them a scratched pair from a bin. Give them the pair they will keep.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-page researched, not worn by us
#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Rating | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit Three lenses, a case, an adjustable frame and a coating with a name — everything a first range trip needs. | The first pair | Military V0 | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Wiley X Saber Advanced A ballistic pair with a lifetime warranty; a gift that outlasts the first gun. | The one they keep for years | MIL-PRF-32432A | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit) Four tints and a weatherproof case; adjusts to most faces. | The affordable kit | Z87.1+ | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Radians Crossfire Badge A MIL-PRF-32432 statement on a half-frame for little money. | The budget ballistic | MIL-PRF-32432 | 6.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Pyramex Intruder Z87.1-2020+, cheap enough to leave in the range bag forever. | The spare for the case | Z87.1+ | 7.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Ratings are quoted from the maker's page (or the retailer's, where labeled); scores are our editorial judgment from those pages, not tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Why glasses, not accessories
Every range requires eye protection, most new owners do not own any, and the loaner bin is a tray of scratched, sweat-stained pairs of unknown rating. A rated pair in a case is the gift a new shooter uses on their very first day and every day after. Holsters, slings and cleaning kits can wait; the range will not let them on the line without glasses.
What a first pair needs
- A rating on the page. Z87.1 with a plus or "high impact" at minimum; a MIL-PRF statement is better. Every pick here has one; the difference is explained on Z87 vs Z87+.
- A clear lens. Most first trips are to an indoor range, and a dark lens hides the target. The Genesis, Walker's and Intruder all ship clear; the Saber's clear lens is a separate buy.
- Adjustment. You do not know their face. The Genesis adjusts temple length, lens angle and nose; Walker's adjusts nose and lens pitch.
- A case. A pair without a case gets scratched in a range bag inside a month. The Genesis and Walker's ship one.
What to pair it with
Ear muffs, if they own none — and if you buy muffs, buy glasses whose temples clear the cup: the thin-temple picks are on shooting glasses for ear muffs. A second tint if they shoot outdoors. And the rule, written in the card: wear them every time, including when you are just watching.
The mistake gifters make
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 01
Stock photoThe first pair
Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit
Three lenses, a case, an adjustable frame and a coating with a name — everything a first range trip needs.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Military V0. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1-2010 (High Impact); CSA Z94.3 |
| Ballistic standard | "Clear and Amber lenses meet Military V0 ballistic impact test requirements (7X higher than ANSI)" — note: the vermillion lens is not included in that statement |
| Lens system | 9-base wraparound uni-lens; interchangeable |
| Lenses included | Clear (indoor/outdoor), Amber (low light), Vermillion (fluorescent/halogen indoor ranges); case; cloth |
| Fit / size | Flexible nose piece; adjustable temple length; adjustable lens inclination; "soft, elastomer browguard" |
| Coatings | "Uvextreme anti-fog coating and ventilation channel" |
| UV | 99.9% |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 8
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 10
What the spec page supports
- Vermillion lens in the box — the indoor-range tint most kits leave out
- Named anti-fog coating with a ventilation channel
- Adjustable temple length and lens angle; brow guard
- Military V0 wording on the clear and amber lenses
Where it falls short
- The V0 claim covers clear and amber only; the vermillion lens carries the ANSI rating
- The stated ANSI edition is 2010, not 2020
- Weight not published
Skip this if…
…you want the ballistic wording to cover every lens in the box — here it covers two of three.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit
Rank 02
Stock photoThe one they keep for years
Wiley X Saber Advanced
A ballistic pair with a lifetime warranty; a gift that outlasts the first gun.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1+ ("optical clarity and high mass/high velocity impact standards") |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF-32432A Ballistic safety standards" |
| Lens system | Changeable / interchangeable lens system; "foam insert on changeable lens" |
| Fit / size | High-wrap frame; flexible adjustable nose piece |
| Frame width | Lens width 138 mm; lens height 50 mm; bridge 25 mm; temple 114 mm |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 7
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- MIL-PRF-32432A and ANSI Z87.1+ both stated on the product page
- Lens swaps without tools; clear, smoke and other tints sold as changeable lenses
- Foam brow insert closes the gap above the lens that sweat and casings find
- Lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- Weight and lens material are not published on the product page
- Rx insert availability is not stated on the product page
- 138 mm lens width runs large on narrow faces
Skip this if…
…you need an Rx insert route the maker documents on the product page, or you have a narrow face — the 138 mm lens is a full-size frame.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X Saber Advanced
Rank 03
Stock photoThe affordable kit
Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit)
Four tints and a weatherproof case; adjusts to most faces.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Z87.1+. ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 impact-rated: a 500 g pointed weight dropped from 50 in and a 1/4 in steel ball at 150 ft/s. The minimum for any pair on this site. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "Exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement" (older edition) |
| Lens material | High-grade polycarbonate |
| Lens system | "Clip & tension mounted design ensures quick & easy lens change" |
| Lenses included | Clear, Smoke Gray, Amber, Yellow; soft pouch, nylon sleeve, weatherproof case |
| Fit / size | Adjustable frame; ratcheting lens pitch; adjustable nose pad for broad bridge sizes |
| Coatings | "Anti-fog design with airflow promotion" (no named coating) |
| UV | UV protection (percentage not stated) |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 6
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 5
- Value (15%)
- 10
What the spec page supports
- Four tints in the box covers indoor, overcast, bright and orange-clay light
- Ratcheting lens pitch and an adjustable nose pad — real fit adjustment at a budget price
- Weatherproof case included
Where it falls short
- The maker cites the 2003 edition of Z87.1; no MIL-PRF wording
- Anti-fog is a vented design, not a named coating
- No Rx route; weight not stated
Skip this if…
…you want a ballistic (MIL-PRF) rating — this is a Z87.1 high-impact kit, and the Genesis Sharp-Shooter adds military V0 wording for a little more.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit)
Rank 04
Stock photoThe budget ballistic
Radians Crossfire Badge
A MIL-PRF-32432 statement on a half-frame for little money.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "exceeding ANSI/ISEA Z87.1+ impact requirements" |
| Ballistic standard | "meeting MIL-PRF-32432 standards" |
| Temples | Dual-mold rubber temples; adjustable, vented nosepiece |
| Fit / size | Lightweight half-frame; matte rubberized black frame |
How the 6.6 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 8
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 5
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 6
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 4
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- MIL-PRF-32432 and Z87.1+ both stated by the maker
- Half-frame keeps the lower field of view open
- Vented nosepiece for airflow
Where it falls short
- Lens material, tints, coatings, UV and weight are not stated on the page
- Single lens; no kit
- No Rx route stated
Skip this if…
…you need a stated anti-fog coating or a lens kit — the page says nothing about either.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Radians Crossfire Badge
Rank 05
Stock photoThe spare for the case
Pyramex Intruder
Z87.1-2020+, cheap enough to leave in the range bag forever.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Z87.1+. ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 impact-rated: a 500 g pointed weight dropped from 50 in and a 1/4 in steel ball at 150 ft/s. The minimum for any pair on this site. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020 + High Impact; CAN/CSA Z94.3-2020; CE/UKCA EN 166 |
| Lens material | Polycarbonate |
| Lens system | Frameless wraparound with integrated nose piece; Clear, Gray, I/O Mirror, Amber, Infinity Blue, Silver Mirror, Blue Mirror |
| Coatings | Scratch-resistant; Standard Anti-fog or H2MAX Anti-fog on select styles |
| UV | UV protection (percentage not stated) |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 6
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 7
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 7
- Value (15%)
- 10
What the spec page supports
- Current-edition Z87.1-2020+ stated by the maker
- Seven tints; H2MAX anti-fog available
- Thin, frameless and cheap enough to keep a pair in every case
Where it falls short
- No MIL-PRF wording — a Z87.1+ pair, not a ballistic one
- Single lens, no kit
- Minimal brow coverage; the gap above the lens is open
Skip this if…
…you want brow and side coverage sealed against casings — a foam-lined V2G or a full-frame kit closes the gap.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Pyramex Intruder
How Lens & Lead rates eyewear
Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
What should I get someone who just bought their first gun?
Rated eye protection. It is required at every range, most new owners do not own any, and a three-lens kit like the Howard Leight Genesis covers indoor and outdoor light on the first trip.
Do new shooters need ballistic glasses?
Z87.1+ is the range floor and fine for a first trip with paper targets. A MIL-PRF pair is the upgrade for steel, indoor bays and air guns.
Should the first pair be clear or tinted?
Clear. Most first range trips are indoors, where a dark lens hides the target. A kit adds a tint for later.
Keep reading
Related on Lens & Lead
Receipts
Sources
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports — Genesis Sharp-Shooter Combo Kit page (ANSI Z87.1-2010 high impact, CSA Z94.3, "Military V0" on clear/amber, Uvextreme, 3 lenses) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wiley X — Saber Advanced product page (ratings, frame measurements, warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Walker's — Sport Glasses With Interchangeable Lens page (4-lens kit, "exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement") (checked 2026-09-21)
- Radians — Crossfire Badge Ballistic-Rated Eyewear page (MIL-PRF-32432, ANSI/ISEA Z87.1+, dual-mold temples) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Pyramex — Intruder frameless eyewear page (ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020+, CSA, EN 166, polycarbonate, tints, coatings) (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.