Range / The rankings
The best shooting glasses under $100: the price band where a military ballistic rating becomes affordable
Fifty dollars buys a Z87.1 high-impact pair. A hundred buys a stated MIL-PRF-32432 pass, and three of the five below have one. The cut is each maker's own list price on the date on this page.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-page researched, not worn by us
#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Rating | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Wiley X Saber Advanced Listed from $58 on Wiley X's own safety collection, with MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+ both on the product page and a lifetime warranty behind it. | Best under $100 overall | MIL-PRF-32432A | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Edge Hamel Listed at $71.88 with MIL-PRF 32432-A stated and six Vapor Shield lens options, including polarized and photochromic. | Best lens choice under $100 | MIL-PRF-32432A | 8.7 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit The 2LS kit listed at $97 and in stock when we checked: two lenses, tool-free swap, three documented Rx inserts. The APEL configuration is a separate, dearer SKU. | Best kit under $100 | APEL | 8.6 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit Three lenses and a military V0 claim on two of them, at a price that cleared the under-$50 cut on its own page. | Most lenses per dollar | Military V0 | 8.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit) Clear, smoke, amber and yellow plus a weatherproof case; Z87.1 high impact against the 2003 edition, no ballistic wording. | Best four-tint kit under $100 | Z87.1+ | 7.1 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Ratings are quoted from the maker's page (or the retailer's, where labeled); scores are our editorial judgment from those pages, not tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

How the cut was made
We do not print prices on this site, because a number published today is wrong next month and a stale price is a small lie. What we do is check the maker's own list price on a stated date and say what we saw. On 2026-09-26 Wiley X listed the Saber Advanced from $58.00, Edge listed the Hamel at $71.88, and ESS listed the Crossbow 2LS Kit at $97.00 and in stock. The Genesis Sharp-Shooter and the Walker's four-lens kit both cleared a tighter cut on the under-$50 page and clear this one easily. Every buy button asks Amazon for today's number.
What $100 buys that $50 does not
One thing, and it is the thing this site is about: a maker-stated military ballistic pass. Under $50 the field is almost entirely ANSI Z87.1 high impact, with the Howard Leight Genesis's military V0 claim and the Radians Badge as the exceptions. Between $50 and $100 the Saber Advanced and the Hamel both state MIL-PRF-32432A outright, and the Crossbow brings an APEL-listed configuration within sight. Edge puts the difference in numbers: MIL-PRF-32432 requires surviving a 22-caliber projectile above 660 feet per second, where the Z87.1 high-velocity test uses a quarter-inch steel ball at about 150.
Why this order
Rating first, then what is in the box, then price. The Saber Advanced and the Hamel are level on rating, and the Saber Advanced wins on price and warranty while the Hamel wins on lens options — polarized smoke and photochromic behind a ballistic pass is genuinely rare, and it is why the Hamel also appears on the polarized roundup. The Crossbow places third only because the $97 2LS kit is not itself the APEL configuration; as a two-lens ballistic kit it is the best value on this page. The Genesis and the Walker's kit close the list on tints per dollar, not on rating.
What still misses at this price
An APEL listing at full kit price. A prescription insert included rather than sold separately. Published lens weight, which almost nobody prints below $150. Photochromic or polarized lenses bundled in the box — on the Hamel they are lens choices, not spares. And the size options that make a frame fit an unusual face: the two frames on this site sold in stated head sizes both list above this cut.
If you buy one
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 01
Stock photoBest under $100 overall
Wiley X Saber Advanced
Listed from $58 on Wiley X's own safety collection, with MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+ both on the product page and a lifetime warranty behind it.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1+ ("optical clarity and high mass/high velocity impact standards") |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF-32432A Ballistic safety standards" |
| Lens system | Changeable / interchangeable lens system; "foam insert on changeable lens" |
| Fit / size | High-wrap frame; flexible adjustable nose piece |
| Frame width | Lens width 138 mm; lens height 50 mm; bridge 25 mm; temple 114 mm |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 7
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- MIL-PRF-32432A and ANSI Z87.1+ both stated on the product page
- Lens swaps without tools; clear, smoke and other tints sold as changeable lenses
- Foam brow insert closes the gap above the lens that sweat and casings find
- Lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- Weight and lens material are not published on the product page
- Rx insert availability is not stated on the product page
- 138 mm lens width runs large on narrow faces
Skip this if…
…you need an Rx insert route the maker documents on the product page, or you have a narrow face — the 138 mm lens is a full-size frame.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X Saber Advanced
Rank 02
Stock photoBest lens choice under $100
Edge Hamel
Listed at $71.88 with MIL-PRF 32432-A stated and six Vapor Shield lens options, including polarized and photochromic.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87.1+"; EN166; UKCA; CSA Z94.3 |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF 32432-A" |
| Lens system | Six lens options, all Vapor Shield: Polarized Smoke, Photochromic, G-15, Clear, Tigers Eye and Copper |
| Temples | "Thin temples" that integrate with "helmets, hats or hearing protection"; thermoplastic rubber nosepiece |
| Frame width | Height 44 mm; lens width 66 mm; between lenses 12 mm; temple 140 mm |
| Coatings | "Vapor Shield is the name of our anti-fog technology... because it's infused into the lenses during manufacturing, outlasts topical anti-fog coatings"; "3x Anti-Scratch lens coating" per the retailer listing |
| UV | Lenses "block 99.9% of UVA, UVB and UVC rays" |
How the 8.7 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 9
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 9
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- MIL-PRF 32432-A and Z87.1+ both stated by the maker, with MCEPS GL-PD 10-12 on the retailer listing
- A polarized lens and a photochromic lens for the same ballistic frame — almost nobody offers both
- Vapor Shield anti-fog is infused into the lens, not wiped onto it, and Edge says so plainly
- 140 mm thin temples: cut for a muff cup and a helmet, which is the whole point of the model
Where it falls short
- Availability is the weak point: several frame and lens combinations showed unavailable on Edge's own store on 2026-09-26
- Lenses are separate SKUs — the polarized or photochromic version is a buying decision, not a box of spares
- Weight is not published, and there is no documented Rx insert
Skip this if…
…you want every tint in one box — this is a one-lens frame sold per tint, and a 2LS or 3LS kit hands you two or three lenses for similar money.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Edge Hamel
Rank 03
Stock photoBest kit under $100
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
The 2LS kit listed at $97 and in stock when we checked: two lenses, tool-free swap, three documented Rx inserts. The APEL configuration is a separate, dearer SKU.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | APEL. Listed on the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List. The Army tested this configuration to MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic fragmentation and approved it for issue. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87+ 2020" (2LS kit page); "ANSI Z87.1+ 2015 Edition" (APEL kit page) |
| Ballistic standard | "U.S. MIL-PRF-32432A" (APEL kit page, SKU 740-0386) |
| APEL | "APEL (Authorized Protective Eyewear List) approved" — the Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL kit |
| Lens system | "Patented DedBolt Lens Lock" for quick exchange |
| Lenses included | Fully assembled frame with Smoke Gray lens plus a Clear lens (2LS); the APEL kit ships two assembled eyeshields, hard case and pouch |
| Rx insert | "Prescription compatible with the ESS U-Rx Insert, ESS Vice Insert, and UPLC" |
| Fit / size | "Tri-Tech Fit ergonomics offer universal comfort and stability. Universal Fit." |
| Coatings | "ClearZone FlowCoat technology minimizes scratches and provides unmatched anti-fog capability" |
How the 8.6 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 10
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- APEL listing and MIL-PRF-32432A stated by the maker on the APEL kit page
- Clear and smoke lenses in the box; tool-free DedBolt swap
- Three documented Rx-insert options (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC)
- Named anti-fog / anti-scratch coating (ClearZone FlowCoat)
Where it falls short
- Lens material, thickness, weight and warranty are not stated on the product pages
- The plain 2LS kit page lists ANSI Z87+ and OSHA but not the MIL-PRF wording — buy the APEL SKU if the Army listing matters to you
- Universal fit only; no small or large size
Skip this if…
…you have a narrow face — the Crossbow comes in one universal size, and the Sawfly's Small or a youth frame will seal better.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
Rank 04
Stock photoMost lenses per dollar
Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit
Three lenses and a military V0 claim on two of them, at a price that cleared the under-$50 cut on its own page.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Military V0. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1-2010 (High Impact); CSA Z94.3 |
| Ballistic standard | "Clear and Amber lenses meet Military V0 ballistic impact test requirements (7X higher than ANSI)" — note: the vermillion lens is not included in that statement |
| Lens system | 9-base wraparound uni-lens; interchangeable |
| Lenses included | Clear (indoor/outdoor), Amber (low light), Vermillion (fluorescent/halogen indoor ranges); case; cloth |
| Fit / size | Flexible nose piece; adjustable temple length; adjustable lens inclination; "soft, elastomer browguard" |
| Coatings | "Uvextreme anti-fog coating and ventilation channel" |
| UV | 99.9% |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 8
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 10
What the spec page supports
- Vermillion lens in the box — the indoor-range tint most kits leave out
- Named anti-fog coating with a ventilation channel
- Adjustable temple length and lens angle; brow guard
- Military V0 wording on the clear and amber lenses
Where it falls short
- The V0 claim covers clear and amber only; the vermillion lens carries the ANSI rating
- The stated ANSI edition is 2010, not 2020
- Weight not published
Skip this if…
…you want the ballistic wording to cover every lens in the box — here it covers two of three.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit
Rank 05
Stock photoBest four-tint kit under $100
Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit)
Clear, smoke, amber and yellow plus a weatherproof case; Z87.1 high impact against the 2003 edition, no ballistic wording.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | Z87.1+. ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 impact-rated: a 500 g pointed weight dropped from 50 in and a 1/4 in steel ball at 150 ft/s. The minimum for any pair on this site. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "Exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement" (older edition) |
| Lens material | High-grade polycarbonate |
| Lens system | "Clip & tension mounted design ensures quick & easy lens change" |
| Lenses included | Clear, Smoke Gray, Amber, Yellow; soft pouch, nylon sleeve, weatherproof case |
| Fit / size | Adjustable frame; ratcheting lens pitch; adjustable nose pad for broad bridge sizes |
| Coatings | "Anti-fog design with airflow promotion" (no named coating) |
| UV | UV protection (percentage not stated) |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 6
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 5
- Value (15%)
- 10
What the spec page supports
- Four tints in the box covers indoor, overcast, bright and orange-clay light
- Ratcheting lens pitch and an adjustable nose pad — real fit adjustment at a budget price
- Weatherproof case included
Where it falls short
- The maker cites the 2003 edition of Z87.1; no MIL-PRF wording
- Anti-fog is a vented design, not a named coating
- No Rx route; weight not stated
Skip this if…
…you want a ballistic (MIL-PRF) rating — this is a Z87.1 high-impact kit, and the Genesis Sharp-Shooter adds military V0 wording for a little more.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit)
Spend the leftover on a second lens, not a second frame
If your first pair states a ballistic rating and came with one tint, the highest-value next purchase is another lens for that same frame — a clear one if you shoot indoors, a smoke or copper one if you shoot outdoors. That beats owning two cheap frames, because the rating travels with the frame and lens pair the maker tested. Which tint for which light is covered in the lens color guide.
How Lens & Lead rates eyewear
Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First edition. Prices and stock read on the makers' own pages on 2026-09-26; the two sub-$50 picks carry the cut established on the under-$50 page.
Questions
Frequently asked
Can you get ballistic-rated shooting glasses under $100?
Yes. Wiley X lists the Saber Advanced from $58 with MIL-PRF-32432A on the page, and Edge lists the Hamel at $71.88 with MIL-PRF 32432-A. Both also state ANSI Z87.1+.
Is $100 enough for prescription shooting glasses?
Not for a prescription lens, no. It is enough for an over-the-glasses shield that goes over your own frames, or for a frame whose maker sells an Rx insert you buy later — see what prescription shooting glasses cost.
Why don't you print the prices on the page?
Because they change. The cut on this page is each maker's list price on 2026-09-26, stated as a date, and the buy button checks Amazon for today's price.
Should I spend more than $100 on shooting glasses?
Only for a specific reason: an APEL-listed kit, a stated head size that fits you, a documented Rx insert, or premium optics. The certification itself barely improves above this band.
Keep reading
Related on Lens & Lead
Receipts
Sources
- Wiley X — Saber Advanced product page (ratings, frame measurements, warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wiley X — Safety Glasses collection page ("Safety Glasses ANSI Z87.1+Rated High Mass VO Ballistic Protection"; Saber Advanced listed from $58.00) (checked 2026-09-26)
- Edge Eyewear — Hamel tactical eyewear page ("MIL-PRF 32432-A"; "ANSI Z87.1+"; EN166; UKCA; CSA Z94.3; Polarized Smoke, Photochromic, G-15, Clear and Tigers Eye Vapor Shield lens options; "block 99.9% of UVA, UVB and UVC rays"; thin temples that integrate with "helmets, hats or hearing protection"; 66 mm lens width, 140 mm temple; $71.88) (checked 2026-09-26)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow 2LS Kit page, price and stock check ($97.00, in stock; "Crossbow is compliant with U.S. Federal OSHA, ANSI Z87+ 2025, CE EN 166") (checked 2026-09-26)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow 2LS Kit page (ANSI Z87+ 2020, ClearZone FlowCoat, U-Rx / Vice inserts, Tri-Tech Fit) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL page (ANSI Z87.1+ 2015, MIL-PRF-32432A, APEL) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports — Genesis Sharp-Shooter Combo Kit page (ANSI Z87.1-2010 high impact, CSA Z94.3, "Military V0" on clear/amber, Uvextreme, 3 lenses) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Walker's — Sport Glasses With Interchangeable Lens page (4-lens kit, "exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement") (checked 2026-09-21)
- Edge Eyewear — tactical eyewear collection page ("Eyewear tested for compliance with the MIL-PRF-32432 standard must withstand the impact of a 22-caliber projectile traveling at more than 660 feet per second"; MIL-PRF-32432 described as a classification of MCEPS) (checked 2026-09-26)
- MSC Industrial Supply — Understanding ANSI Z87.1 (high-mass 500 g from 4 ft; high-velocity steel ball at 102 mph; Z87+ and U/L/W/H/D/X markings) (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.