Range / Review
Wiley X Saber Advanced review: the range-bag default, judged on what Wiley X actually publishes
MIL-PRF-32432A, Z87.1+, changeable lenses, a foam brow insert and a lifetime warranty are on the page. Weight, lens material and an Rx route are not. Here is what that adds up to.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-page researched, not worn by us
#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The verdict
The pair and its alternatives
Stock photoThe pair under review
Wiley X Saber Advanced
MIL-PRF-32432A8.1 /10The default ballistic pair for a range bag: MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+ on the maker's page, a changeable-lens system, a foam brow insert and a lifetime warranty.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X Saber Advanced
Stock photoAlternative: same rating, Rx-ready
Wiley X WX Vapor
MIL-PRF-32432A8.4 /10Same MIL-PRF-32432A, thinner temples and a documented Rx insert, for more money.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X WX Vapor
Stock photoAlternative: the APEL kit
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
APEL8.6 /10Two lenses in the box, the Army's listing, three documented inserts.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit

The rating, in Wiley X's words
Two lines on the Saber Advanced page do the work: "MIL-PRF-32432A Ballistic safety standards" and "ANSI Z87.1+ Optical clarity and high mass/high velocity impact standards". The first is the military fragmentation specification, current revision; the second is the civilian impact rating with the plus. The page does not cite a clause or a V50 the way Revision does, and the Saber Advanced does not claim an APEL listing — that belongs to other Wiley X models and to the ESS Crossbow. For a civilian range pair, the two statements together are what you want to see, and what most competitors at this price do not say. The standards are compared on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
The changeable-lens system
The Saber Advanced is sold as a frame with one lens and a changeable-lens system; Wiley X sells the other tints separately. The lens carries the "foam insert" — the seal sits on the lens, not the frame, so when you swap smoke for clear the brow seal comes with it. That is a sensible design and a cost: every tint you add is another foam-backed lens rather than a bare one. The tints are not enumerated on the page we read; the frame's reason to exist is that it takes them. What each tint is for is on the lens color guide.
Fit: 138 mm and a foam brow
Wiley X publishes the frame measurements — lens width 138 mm, lens height 50 mm, bridge 25 mm, temple 114 mm — and calls it a "high-wrap frame" with a "flexible nose piece". That is a large lens. On a medium or large face it is the point: a 50 mm tall wrap with foam at the brow closes the gap hot brass falls into. On a narrow face the temples will splay and the foam will sit off the brow, and the seal that makes it rated in practice is gone. The 114 mm temples are on the short side, which helps under a muff cup, but the page does not describe them as thin; the Vapor gets the "thin design" wording.
What the page leaves out
- Weight. Not stated. Competitor listings quote figures; we do not print them.
- Lens material. Not named on the page.
- Anti-fog and hard coat. Not named on the page, unlike the Vapor and Gravity pages, which state an anti-fog treatment.
- Rx insert. Not stated for the standard model; a reviewer on the page mentions a twist-lock Rx frame, which is a customer's claim, not the maker's. Wiley X documents the Rx insert on the Vapor.
Who it is for, and not for
For: a shooter with a medium-to-large face who wants a maker-stated ballistic pair, a brow seal and a lens system, without paying for an APEL SKU or an insert route. Not for: narrow faces, anyone who needs a documented Rx insert (buy the Vapor), and anyone who wants two lenses in the box on day one (buy the Crossbow or the ICE-3LS).
The alternatives
Against the Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0, the argument is on Wiley X vs Oakley; against ESS, on Wiley X vs ESS.
In detail
Spec page and score
Stock photoThe pair under review
Wiley X Saber Advanced
The default ballistic pair for a range bag: MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+ on the maker's page, a changeable-lens system, a foam brow insert and a lifetime warranty.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1+ ("optical clarity and high mass/high velocity impact standards") |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF-32432A Ballistic safety standards" |
| Lens system | Changeable / interchangeable lens system; "foam insert on changeable lens" |
| Fit / size | High-wrap frame; flexible adjustable nose piece |
| Frame width | Lens width 138 mm; lens height 50 mm; bridge 25 mm; temple 114 mm |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 7
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- MIL-PRF-32432A and ANSI Z87.1+ both stated on the product page
- Lens swaps without tools; clear, smoke and other tints sold as changeable lenses
- Foam brow insert closes the gap above the lens that sweat and casings find
- Lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- Weight and lens material are not published on the product page
- Rx insert availability is not stated on the product page
- 138 mm lens width runs large on narrow faces
Skip this if…
…you need an Rx insert route the maker documents on the product page, or you have a narrow face — the 138 mm lens is a full-size frame.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X Saber Advanced
Stock photoAlternative: same rating, Rx-ready
Wiley X WX Vapor
Same MIL-PRF-32432A, thinner temples and a documented Rx insert, for more money.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1+ |
| Ballistic standard | MIL-PRF-32432A |
| Lens system | Interchangeable lens system |
| Rx insert | "Rx-ready" — RX insert available |
| Temples | Dual-injected rubber temples, thin design |
| Fit / size | Universal fit; adjustable nose piece; high-wrap frame |
| Frame width | Lens width 63 mm; lens height 40 mm; bridge 25 mm; temple 133 mm |
| Coatings | Anti-fog treatment |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty |
How the 8.4 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 9
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 7
What the spec page supports
- MIL-PRF-32432A plus ANSI Z87.1+ on the maker's page
- Rx insert documented by the maker — a prescription route that keeps the ballistic lens
- Thin dual-injected temples the maker describes as thin, for muffs and comms
- Interchangeable lenses and an anti-fog treatment
Where it falls short
- Costs more than the Saber Advanced for the same ballistic tier
- Weight not published
- Fewer bundled lenses than a 3-lens kit
Skip this if…
…you do not need the Rx insert or the thinner temples — the Saber Advanced carries the same MIL-PRF-32432A rating for less.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X WX Vapor
Stock photoAlternative: the APEL kit
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
Two lenses in the box, the Army's listing, three documented inserts.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | APEL. Listed on the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List. The Army tested this configuration to MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic fragmentation and approved it for issue. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87+ 2020" (2LS kit page); "ANSI Z87.1+ 2015 Edition" (APEL kit page) |
| Ballistic standard | "U.S. MIL-PRF-32432A" (APEL kit page, SKU 740-0386) |
| APEL | "APEL (Authorized Protective Eyewear List) approved" — the Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL kit |
| Lens system | "Patented DedBolt Lens Lock" for quick exchange |
| Lenses included | Fully assembled frame with Smoke Gray lens plus a Clear lens (2LS); the APEL kit ships two assembled eyeshields, hard case and pouch |
| Rx insert | "Prescription compatible with the ESS U-Rx Insert, ESS Vice Insert, and UPLC" |
| Fit / size | "Tri-Tech Fit ergonomics offer universal comfort and stability. Universal Fit." |
| Coatings | "ClearZone FlowCoat technology minimizes scratches and provides unmatched anti-fog capability" |
How the 8.6 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 10
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- APEL listing and MIL-PRF-32432A stated by the maker on the APEL kit page
- Clear and smoke lenses in the box; tool-free DedBolt swap
- Three documented Rx-insert options (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC)
- Named anti-fog / anti-scratch coating (ClearZone FlowCoat)
Where it falls short
- Lens material, thickness, weight and warranty are not stated on the product pages
- The plain 2LS kit page lists ANSI Z87+ and OSHA but not the MIL-PRF wording — buy the APEL SKU if the Army listing matters to you
- Universal fit only; no small or large size
Skip this if…
…you have a narrow face — the Crossbow comes in one universal size, and the Sawfly's Small or a youth frame will seal better.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
How Lens & Lead rates eyewear
Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is the Wiley X Saber Advanced ballistic rated?
Wiley X states "MIL-PRF-32432A Ballistic safety standards" and "ANSI Z87.1+" on the product page. It does not claim an APEL listing.
Can you get the Saber Advanced in prescription?
The standard model's page does not state an Rx insert. Wiley X documents the Rx insert on the WX Vapor, which carries the same ratings.
Does the Saber Advanced fit under ear muffs?
The temples are 114 mm and the page does not describe them as thin. Oakley, Magpul and ESS describe their temples for ear protection in writing; see the ear-muff ranking.
Keep reading
Related on Lens & Lead
Receipts
Sources
- Wiley X — Saber Advanced product page (ratings, frame measurements, warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wiley X — WX Vapor product page (ratings, Rx insert, frame measurements) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow 2LS Kit page (ANSI Z87+ 2020, ClearZone FlowCoat, U-Rx / Vice inserts, Tri-Tech Fit) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL page (ANSI Z87.1+ 2015, MIL-PRF-32432A, APEL) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wikipedia — Ballistic eyewear (MIL-PRF-31013 0.15 cal T37 at 640–660 ft/s for spectacles; 0.22 cal at 550–560 ft/s for goggles; Z87 vs Z87+ marking) (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.