Skip to content
Lens & Lead

Range / Review

Walker's shooting glasses review: the four-lens Sport kit and the IKON Tanker, on what Walker's publishes

The hearing-protection company's glasses are cheap, rated to older editions of Z87.1, and honest about it. The Sport kit ships four tints; the Tanker ships grip. Neither ships a MIL-PRF number.

#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure

The verdict

The pair and its alternatives

  • Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

    The kit under review

    Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit)

    Z87.1+7.1 /10

    Four polycarbonate lenses — clear, smoke, amber, yellow — an adjustable frame with ratcheting lens pitch and a weatherproof case, at a price that undercuts a single premium lens. "Exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact."

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit)

  • Illustrative stock photo: black sport sunglasses with a case on a dark surfaceStock photo

    The single-lens Walker's

    Walker's IKON Tanker

    Z87.1+6.2 /10

    Rubber TPR temples, foam nose, rose or amber; Z87.1-2010 high impact; MCEPS GL-PD 10-12 cited.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Walker's IKON Tanker

  • Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

    Alternative: the kit with ballistic wording

    Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit

    Military V08.1 /10

    Three lenses including vermillion, a named anti-fog coat, and a military V0 claim on two lenses.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit

Red ear muffs hanging at an indoor shooting range
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific pair reviewed on this page.

Who Walker's is

Walker's Game Ear is a hearing-protection company that sells eyewear alongside its muffs, which is why its glasses are priced like an accessory and why the rest of this site keeps pairing them with muffs. The product pages are short. What they do say, they say plainly.

The Sport 4-lens kit

One frame, four "high-grade polycarbonate" lenses — clear, smoke gray, amber, yellow — a soft pouch, a nylon sleeve and a weatherproof case. The lens changes on a "clip & tension mounted design"; the frame's lens pitch ratchets, the nose pad adjusts "to broad bridge sizes", and the anti-fog is a vented "airflow promotion" design rather than a named coating. That is a complete indoor-to-outdoor kit for a shooter who swaps lenses at the bench. The tints and when to use them are on the lens color guide.

The IKON Tanker

A full-frame, single-lens pair in rose, amber, clear or smoke, with "TPR Flex rubber temple arms", an EVA foam nose piece and a matte rubberized frame. Walker's cites "ANSI Z87.1-2010 High Impact Requirement" and "MCEPS GL-PD 10-12 standards" — the latter a Military Combat Eye Protection System purchase description, not the MIL-PRF-32432 fragmentation spec, and we do not treat it as one. The rose lens is the reason a clay shooter would pick it; the rubber temples are the reason a summer shooter would, and the reason a muff wearer might not.

The rating: high impact, older editions

"Exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement" on the Sport kit; "Z87.1-2010 High Impact" on the Tanker. The high-impact tests — the 500 g weight and the steel ball — did not change between the 2003, 2010, 2015 and 2020 editions, so both are plus-tier pairs in practice. What the older citation tells you is that Walker's has not re-stated the claim against the current edition. What it does not do is make the pair less impact-rated. The edition question is on what Z87+ means.

What the pages leave out

  • Any military ballistic standard — the Sport kit is a Z87.1 high-impact kit, full stop.
  • A named coating; the anti-fog is venting.
  • Weight and frame dimensions.
  • An Rx insert.
  • A UV percentage on the Sport kit (99% is stated on the Clearview Youth).

Against the Genesis

Figures as published by the maker (or, where labeled, the retailer); each value links to its source. A dash means the figure isn't in our cited sources.

The Genesis costs about the same as the Sport kit on the pages we checked, ships three lenses instead of four, and adds a named Uvextreme anti-fog coating and a military V0 statement on its clear and amber lenses. The Walker's kit wins on tint count and on the yellow lens the Genesis lacks; the Genesis wins on the rating wording and the coating. Both are on the budget ranking.

In detail

Spec page and score

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

The kit under review

Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit)

Z87.1+7.1 /10

Four polycarbonate lenses — clear, smoke, amber, yellow — an adjustable frame with ratcheting lens pitch and a weatherproof case, at a price that undercuts a single premium lens. "Exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact."

EvidenceResearched · not worn by us

Rating tierZ87.1+. ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 impact-rated: a 500 g pointed weight dropped from 50 in and a 1/4 in steel ball at 150 ft/s. The minimum for any pair on this site.
Impact rating"Exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement" (older edition)
Lens materialHigh-grade polycarbonate
Lens system"Clip & tension mounted design ensures quick & easy lens change"
Lenses includedClear, Smoke Gray, Amber, Yellow; soft pouch, nylon sleeve, weatherproof case
Fit / sizeAdjustable frame; ratcheting lens pitch; adjustable nose pad for broad bridge sizes
Coatings"Anti-fog design with airflow promotion" (no named coating)
UVUV protection (percentage not stated)
How the 7.1 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
6
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
7
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
5
Value (15%)
10

What the spec page supports

  • Four tints in the box covers indoor, overcast, bright and orange-clay light
  • Ratcheting lens pitch and an adjustable nose pad — real fit adjustment at a budget price
  • Weatherproof case included

Where it falls short

  • The maker cites the 2003 edition of Z87.1; no MIL-PRF wording
  • Anti-fog is a vented design, not a named coating
  • No Rx route; weight not stated

Skip this if…

you want a ballistic (MIL-PRF) rating — this is a Z87.1 high-impact kit, and the Genesis Sharp-Shooter adds military V0 wording for a little more.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Walker's Sport Glasses (4-lens kit)

Illustrative stock photo: black sport sunglasses with a case on a dark surfaceStock photo

The single-lens Walker's

Walker's IKON Tanker

Z87.1+6.2 /10

Rubber TPR temples, foam nose, rose or amber; Z87.1-2010 high impact; MCEPS GL-PD 10-12 cited.

EvidenceResearched · not worn by us

Rating tierZ87.1+. ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 impact-rated: a 500 g pointed weight dropped from 50 in and a 1/4 in steel ball at 150 ft/s. The minimum for any pair on this site.
Impact rating"Exceed ANSI Z87.1-2010 High Impact Requirement"; MCEPS GL-PD 10-12
Lens systemSingle lens; Rose, Amber, Clear or Smoke
Temples"TPR Flex rubber temple arms"; EVA foam nose piece; matte rubberized full frame
How the 6.2 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
6
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
6
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
6
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
4
Value (15%)
9

What the spec page supports

  • Rubber temples and foam nose piece for a non-slip fit
  • Rose tint offered — rare at this price, useful on orange clays
  • Full frame protects the lens edge

Where it falls short

  • One lens per pair; buy two pairs for two light conditions
  • Lens material, coatings and UV not stated on the page
  • Rubberized full-frame temples are thicker under muffs

Skip this if…

you swap between indoor and outdoor light — a kit with a clear lens included is the better buy.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Walker's IKON Tanker

Illustrative stock photo: black sunglasses and a case on a reflective surfaceStock photo

Alternative: the kit with ballistic wording

Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit

Military V08.1 /10

Three lenses including vermillion, a named anti-fog coat, and a military V0 claim on two lenses.

How the 8.1 score breaks down
Protection rating (30%)
8
Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
8
Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
7
Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
8
Value (15%)
10

What the spec page supports

  • Vermillion lens in the box — the indoor-range tint most kits leave out
  • Named anti-fog coating with a ventilation channel
  • Adjustable temple length and lens angle; brow guard
  • Military V0 wording on the clear and amber lenses

Where it falls short

  • The V0 claim covers clear and amber only; the vermillion lens carries the ANSI rating
  • The stated ANSI edition is 2010, not 2020
  • Weight not published

Skip this if…

you want the ballistic wording to cover every lens in the box — here it covers two of three.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Howard Leight Genesis Sharp-Shooter Kit

How Lens & Lead rates eyewear

Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Are Walker's shooting glasses ANSI rated?

Yes: Walker's states "exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement" on the Sport kit and "Z87.1-2010 High Impact" on the IKON Tanker.

Are Walker's shooting glasses ballistic rated?

No MIL-PRF standard is stated on the pages we read. The Tanker cites MCEPS GL-PD 10-12, a military purchase description, which we do not treat as a fragmentation rating.

Do Walker's glasses fit under Walker's muffs?

Walker's does not state temple thickness. The Sport kit's frame adjusts; the Tanker's rubber temples are thicker. The ear-muff ranking lists pairs whose makers address it in writing.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. Walker's — Sport Glasses With Interchangeable Lens page (4-lens kit, "exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement") (checked 2026-09-21)
  2. Walker's — IKON Tanker Glasses page (ANSI Z87.1-2010 high impact, MCEPS GL-PD 10-12, TPR temples) (checked 2026-09-21)
  3. Walker's — Clearview Youth page ("exceeds ANSI Z87.1-2010 high-impact requirement", smaller heads, 99% UV) (checked 2026-09-21)
  4. Howard Leight Shooting Sports — Genesis Sharp-Shooter Combo Kit page (ANSI Z87.1-2010 high impact, CSA Z94.3, "Military V0" on clear/amber, Uvextreme, 3 lenses) (checked 2026-09-21)
  5. MSC Industrial Supply — Understanding ANSI Z87.1 (high-mass 500 g from 4 ft; high-velocity steel ball at 102 mph; Z87+ and U/L/W/H/D/X markings) (checked 2026-09-21)

We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.

Back to Shooting Glasses