Range / Review
Magpul Defiant review: a range sunglass with a paper trail, and one word in it worth reading twice
The Defiant's coverage says 'Z87+ ballistic protection' and 'tested to MIL PRF 32432 ballistic standards'. Tested to is not certified to. Here is what the rest of the page supports and what that verb does to the ranking.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-page researched, not worn by us
#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The verdict
The pair and its alternatives
Stock photoThe pair under review
Magpul Defiant
MIL-PRF-32432 (tested to)8.1 /10Z87+ and "tested to MIL PRF 32432" per the NRA launch coverage, TR90NZZ frame, temples designed around over-the-ear hearing protection, anti-fog and anti-reflective coatings — a range sunglass with a paper trail.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Magpul Defiant
Stock photoAlternative: the sized sunglass
Wiley X WX Gravity
MIL-PRF-32432A7.6 /10MIL-PRF-32432A stated, medium and large sizes, a removable gasket, an Rx frame option.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X WX Gravity
Stock photoAlternative: the budget MIL-PRF
Radians Crossfire Badge
MIL-PRF-324326.6 /10"Meeting MIL-PRF-32432 standards" and Z87.1+ on a half-frame for much less.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Radians Crossfire Badge

Why the NRA article is the source
Magpul's own site returned a 404 to our reader for every eyewear URL we tried, so this review is built from Shooting Sports USA's launch article, which reproduces Magpul's product description. That is a press page, not a maker page, and the Evidence table on the card says so. If magpul.com states the ratings differently for the current production Defiant, its page wins; we will update when we can read it.
'Tested to' vs 'meets'
The description says the Defiant "provides Z87+ ballistic protection and has been tested to MIL PRF 32432 ballistic standards". The first half is a plain claim of the ANSI impact rating. The second half says a test was run to the military standard; it does not, in those words, say the result. Most makers on this site write "meets", "certified" or cite a clause; Revision adds a V50. We take Magpul at its word that the frame carries the Z87+ mark and that it was tested to the military spec, and we rank it in the MIL-PRF tier with the weaker verb noted in its badge. What the difference is worth is on how to tell if glasses are ballistic rated.
Fit: medium-to-large, and the temples
Magpul states the fit in writing, which most makers do not: medium-to-large faces, rubber overmolded temple pads and soft rubber nose pads, and temples shaped for ear protection. That last line is the reason the Defiant makes the ear-muff ranking: the temple is thin where the muff cup sits and padded where it touches the skull. On a small face the same frame will sit wide; the Wiley X Gravity is sold in two sizes, and the small-face picks are on shooting glasses for small faces.
The inside anti-reflective coat
On a bright range the reflection off the back surface of a lens — your own eye, the sky behind you — is a real distraction, and few shooting glasses address it. Magpul specifies an anti-reflective coating on the inside of the lens plus an anti-fog on the outside and an oleophobic treatment for oils and chemicals. Those are three named functions where a budget pair offers one unnamed one.
What the coverage leaves out
- Lens material (polycarbonate is likely but not stated in the text we read).
- Weight, frame width, temple length.
- An Rx route. None stated.
- A clear lens in the box. The Defiant is sold as a sunglass; buy clear separately for an indoor bay.
- Polarized variants. Retailers list them; the coverage we cite does not, and polarized lenses have a specific problem with red dots — see should shooting glasses be polarized.
The alternatives
In detail
Spec page and score
Stock photoThe pair under review
Magpul Defiant
Z87+ and "tested to MIL PRF 32432" per the NRA launch coverage, TR90NZZ frame, temples designed around over-the-ear hearing protection, anti-fog and anti-reflective coatings — a range sunglass with a paper trail.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432 (tested to). The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "Z87+ ballistic protection" (as reported by Shooting Sports USA) |
| Ballistic standard | Tested to "MIL PRF 32432 ballistic standards" (as reported; note the wording is tested to, not certified) |
| Lens system | Lenses removable for maintenance; TR90NZZ frame |
| Temples | "Temples are designed to eliminate pressure points while wearing over-the-ear hearing protection and integrate well with helmets or headwear" |
| Fit / size | "Accommodate medium to large faces with ease"; anti-slip rubber nose pads and temple pads |
| Coatings | Anti-fog coating; anti-reflective coating on the inside of the lenses |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 8
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 9
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 7
What the spec page supports
- Temples explicitly designed around over-the-ear hearing protection
- Inside anti-reflective coating — the reflection off the back of a lens is a real annoyance on a bright range
- Removable lenses; DAKA hard case in the box
- Fits medium-to-large faces by design
Where it falls short
- Magpul's own site blocked our reader; the ratings are quoted from press coverage and read "tested to", not "certified"
- Sold as a sunglass — no clear lens bundled for indoor use
- No Rx route stated
Skip this if…
…you want "certified" rather than "tested to" wording, or an APEL logo — Revision and ESS state both outright.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Magpul Defiant
Stock photoAlternative: the sized sunglass
Wiley X WX Gravity
MIL-PRF-32432A stated, medium and large sizes, a removable gasket, an Rx frame option.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1+ |
| Ballistic standard | MIL-PRF-32432A |
| Lens system | Smoke Gray lens; "shatterproof lenses" |
| Rx insert | "Buy in prescription" frame-only option (CCGRA01F) |
| Temples | Dual-injected rubber temples; T-docking strap; removable irritant-blocking gasket |
| Fit / size | Medium and Large head sizes offered |
| Frame width | Lens width 63 mm; lens height 40 mm; bridge 17 mm; temple 119 mm |
| Coatings | Anti-fog coating |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty |
How the 7.6 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 6
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 6
What the spec page supports
- Two stated head sizes — the rare ballistic frame the maker sizes for a large head
- Removable gasket seals out wind and dust; strap converts it toward a goggle
- MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+ stated; lifetime warranty
- Prescription frame option offered by the maker
Where it falls short
- Sold with a single smoke lens — no clear lens for an indoor range in the box
- A sunglass silhouette, not a kit: bright-light use only unless you buy lenses
- Thicker temples than the Vapor; not marketed for ear muffs
Skip this if…
…you shoot indoors or at dusk — it ships with a smoke lens only, and a kit with a clear lens serves that range better.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X WX Gravity
Stock photoAlternative: the budget MIL-PRF
Radians Crossfire Badge
"Meeting MIL-PRF-32432 standards" and Z87.1+ on a half-frame for much less.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "exceeding ANSI/ISEA Z87.1+ impact requirements" |
| Ballistic standard | "meeting MIL-PRF-32432 standards" |
| Temples | Dual-mold rubber temples; adjustable, vented nosepiece |
| Fit / size | Lightweight half-frame; matte rubberized black frame |
How the 6.6 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 8
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 5
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 6
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 4
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- MIL-PRF-32432 and Z87.1+ both stated by the maker
- Half-frame keeps the lower field of view open
- Vented nosepiece for airflow
Where it falls short
- Lens material, tints, coatings, UV and weight are not stated on the page
- Single lens; no kit
- No Rx route stated
Skip this if…
…you need a stated anti-fog coating or a lens kit — the page says nothing about either.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Radians Crossfire Badge
How Lens & Lead rates eyewear
Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Are Magpul Defiant glasses ballistic rated?
The launch coverage states "Z87+ ballistic protection" and "tested to MIL PRF 32432 ballistic standards". We could not read magpul.com; "tested to" is weaker wording than "meets" or "certified", and the card says so.
Do Magpul Defiant glasses fit under ear muffs?
Magpul designed the temples for it in writing: "to eliminate pressure points while wearing over-the-ear hearing protection".
Is the Magpul Defiant polarized?
Retailers list polarized variants; the coverage we cite does not mention polarization. Polarized lenses can dim red-dot sights and LCD range displays, which is a reason to buy the non-polarized lens for the range.
Keep reading
Related on Lens & Lead
Receipts
Sources
- Shooting Sports USA (NRA) — New: Magpul Defiant Eyewear (Z87+, tested to MIL-PRF-32432, TR90NZZ, temple design, coatings) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wiley X — WX Gravity product page (ratings, sizes, gasket, Rx) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Radians — Crossfire Badge Ballistic-Rated Eyewear page (MIL-PRF-32432, ANSI/ISEA Z87.1+, dual-mold temples) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wikipedia — Ballistic eyewear (MIL-PRF-31013 0.15 cal T37 at 640–660 ft/s for spectacles; 0.22 cal at 550–560 ft/s for goggles; Z87 vs Z87+ marking) (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.