Range / Review
Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0 review: the issued classic, judged on the page we could actually read
Oakley's own product page and the Army's APEL page both refused our reader. What follows is built from a retailer listing we cite and label, which is why this pair carries a MIL-PRF badge here and not an APEL one.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-page researched, not worn by us
#adLens & Lead earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we rate · Disclosure
The verdict
The pair and its alternatives
Stock photoThe pair under review
Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0
MIL-PRF-324328.0 /10The issued-eyewear classic: Plutonite lenses, a modular lens system and Thin Stem temples the retailer says are built for over-ear protection and comms. Ratings quoted from the retailer listing because Oakley's own page blocks readers.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0
Stock photoAlternative: the APEL kit whose page we could read
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
APEL8.6 /10APEL and MIL-PRF-32432A on the maker's own page, two lenses, three inserts.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
Stock photoAlternative: the changeable-lens range pair
Wiley X Saber Advanced
MIL-PRF-32432A8.1 /10MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+ on the maker's page, foam brow, lifetime warranty.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X Saber Advanced

The sourcing caveat
Every rating on this site is quoted from a page we read. For the M Frame 3.0 that page is a Shellback Tactical listing, because oakley.com and oakleysi.com returned a 403 to our reader, and so did the U.S. Army's APEL product page for this frame. The retailer lists "ANSI Z87.1" and "MIL-PRF-32432"; we repeat exactly that, mark the pair MIL-PRF, and do not mark it APEL — even though the frame is widely sold as an APEL product — because we could not read a page that says so. If you can, the Army's APEL page is the one to check. How to read a listing yourself is on how to tell if glasses are ballistic rated.
Thin Stem: the reason to buy it
The M Frame's temples are the product. The listing describes "Thin Stem Technology" and integration with "helmets, communication gear, and hearing protection systems". A muff cup seals against the side of the head; a thick temple lifts the cup's edge and breaks the seal, and a thick temple under a cup for two hours is a headache. A flat, thin stem is the fix, and Oakley built the frame around it. Magpul and ESS describe the same intent in their own words; the head-to-head is on shooting glasses for ear muffs.
Plutonite, HDO and the modular lens
Plutonite is Oakley's lens material; the listing states it "filters 100% of all UVA, UVB, UVC, and harmful blue light up to 400nm" and carries High Definition Optics for clarity. The modular lens system takes clear, gray and Prizm gray lenses. What the listing does not do is enumerate a kit — the M Frame is sold in various lens configurations, and the one you order determines what is in the box. Nor does it name the anti-fog coating beyond "anti-fog coating".
The rating as listed
"ANSI Z87.1" on the listing, without the plus character printed, and "MIL-PRF-32432" without the A. A MIL-PRF-32432 pass implies a lens that survives a fragment simulator at several times the ANSI high-velocity energy, so the plus is not in doubt in practice — but our rating column repeats what the page says, and the page says this. The standards are on MIL-PRF-32432 explained.
What the listing leaves out
- Rx insert. Not stated. ESS and Revision document theirs.
- Frame width and weight. Not on the listing we cite; other listings quote figures we could not verify.
- Warranty. Not stated.
- APEL. Not readable by us on any page; not marked here.
The alternatives
The head-to-heads: Oakley M Frame vs ESS Crossbow and Wiley X vs Oakley.
In detail
Spec page and score
Stock photoThe pair under review
Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0
The issued-eyewear classic: Plutonite lenses, a modular lens system and Thin Stem temples the retailer says are built for over-ear protection and comms. Ratings quoted from the retailer listing because Oakley's own page blocks readers.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1 (as listed by the retailer) |
| Ballistic standard | MIL-PRF-32432 (as listed by the retailer) |
| Lens material | Plutonite |
| Lens system | Modular lens system; Clear, Gray and Prizm Gray lens options |
| Temples | "Thin Stem Technology — designed for compatibility with over-ear protection and communication systems without pressure points" |
| Coatings | Anti-fog coating |
| UV | "Filters 100% of all UVA, UVB, UVC, and harmful blue light up to 400nm" |
How the 8.0 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 8
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 9
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 9
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 7
- Value (15%)
- 6
What the spec page supports
- Thin Stem temples described specifically for over-ear protection and comms
- Modular lens system with clear, gray and Prizm options
- High Definition Optics claim and a 400 nm UV cutoff
- Long service history as issued eyewear
Where it falls short
- We could not read Oakley's own page or the Army APEL page — ratings are quoted from a retailer listing and we do not mark it APEL here
- Rx insert availability not stated on the listing
- Premium price for the same MIL-PRF tier as the Saber Advanced
Skip this if…
…you want the rating and APEL status straight from a page you can read yourself — the ESS Crossbow APEL kit states both on the maker's site.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0
Stock photoAlternative: the APEL kit whose page we could read
ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
APEL and MIL-PRF-32432A on the maker's own page, two lenses, three inserts.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | APEL. Listed on the U.S. Army's Authorized Protective Eyewear List. The Army tested this configuration to MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic fragmentation and approved it for issue. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | "ANSI Z87+ 2020" (2LS kit page); "ANSI Z87.1+ 2015 Edition" (APEL kit page) |
| Ballistic standard | "U.S. MIL-PRF-32432A" (APEL kit page, SKU 740-0386) |
| APEL | "APEL (Authorized Protective Eyewear List) approved" — the Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL kit |
| Lens system | "Patented DedBolt Lens Lock" for quick exchange |
| Lenses included | Fully assembled frame with Smoke Gray lens plus a Clear lens (2LS); the APEL kit ships two assembled eyeshields, hard case and pouch |
| Rx insert | "Prescription compatible with the ESS U-Rx Insert, ESS Vice Insert, and UPLC" |
| Fit / size | "Tri-Tech Fit ergonomics offer universal comfort and stability. Universal Fit." |
| Coatings | "ClearZone FlowCoat technology minimizes scratches and provides unmatched anti-fog capability" |
How the 8.6 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 10
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 8
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec page supports
- APEL listing and MIL-PRF-32432A stated by the maker on the APEL kit page
- Clear and smoke lenses in the box; tool-free DedBolt swap
- Three documented Rx-insert options (U-Rx, Vice, UPLC)
- Named anti-fog / anti-scratch coating (ClearZone FlowCoat)
Where it falls short
- Lens material, thickness, weight and warranty are not stated on the product pages
- The plain 2LS kit page lists ANSI Z87+ and OSHA but not the MIL-PRF wording — buy the APEL SKU if the Army listing matters to you
- Universal fit only; no small or large size
Skip this if…
…you have a narrow face — the Crossbow comes in one universal size, and the Sawfly's Small or a youth frame will seal better.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ESS Crossbow 2LS Kit
Stock photoAlternative: the changeable-lens range pair
Wiley X Saber Advanced
MIL-PRF-32432A and Z87.1+ on the maker's page, foam brow, lifetime warranty.
EvidenceResearched · not worn by us
| Rating tier | MIL-PRF-32432A. The maker states a MIL-PRF-32432 (or MIL-PRF-31013 / military V0) ballistic pass: a fragment simulator at several times the energy of the ANSI high-velocity test. Not on the Army list. |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | ANSI Z87.1+ ("optical clarity and high mass/high velocity impact standards") |
| Ballistic standard | "MIL-PRF-32432A Ballistic safety standards" |
| Lens system | Changeable / interchangeable lens system; "foam insert on changeable lens" |
| Fit / size | High-wrap frame; flexible adjustable nose piece |
| Frame width | Lens width 138 mm; lens height 50 mm; bridge 25 mm; temple 114 mm |
| UV | 100% UVA/UVB |
| Warranty | Lifetime warranty |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Protection rating (30%)
- 9
- Optical clarity & tint options (20%)
- 8
- Fit & ear-pro compatibility (20%)
- 7
- Fog & scratch resistance (15%)
- 7
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec page supports
- MIL-PRF-32432A and ANSI Z87.1+ both stated on the product page
- Lens swaps without tools; clear, smoke and other tints sold as changeable lenses
- Foam brow insert closes the gap above the lens that sweat and casings find
- Lifetime warranty
Where it falls short
- Weight and lens material are not published on the product page
- Rx insert availability is not stated on the product page
- 138 mm lens width runs large on narrow faces
Skip this if…
…you need an Rx insert route the maker documents on the product page, or you have a narrow face — the 138 mm lens is a full-size frame.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Wiley X Saber Advanced
How Lens & Lead rates eyewear
Pairs we claim to have worn or tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they shot every pair on the list. We didn't, and we say so. What we do instead: read the certification the maker actually publishes and repeat its wording ("meets", "certified", "tested to", "APEL"), check the lens system and the tints in the box, note whether the temples are described for ear muffs and whether an Rx route exists, and score every pick on a public rubric that weights protection first. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite the retailer and say so. The standards themselves are explained on ANSI Z87.1 vs MIL-PRF-32432.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is the Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0 APEL approved?
It is widely sold as an APEL product, but Oakley's page and the Army's APEL product page both blocked our reader, so we do not mark it APEL here. The retailer listing we cite states ANSI Z87.1 and MIL-PRF-32432.
Are all Oakley lenses ballistic?
No. Oakley's SI Ballistic line is rated; its fashion lines are not. The rating belongs to the model whose page states it.
Does the M Frame 3.0 work with ear muffs?
That is its purpose: the listing describes Thin Stem temples designed for over-ear protection and comms without pressure points.
Keep reading
Related on Lens & Lead
Receipts
Sources
- Shellback Tactical — Oakley SI Ballistic M Frame 3.0 listing (ANSI Z87.1, MIL-PRF-32432, Thin Stem, Plutonite, UV) (checked 2026-09-21)
- ESS EyePro — Crossbow Black 2x w/Clear & Smoke Gray APEL page (ANSI Z87.1+ 2015, MIL-PRF-32432A, APEL) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wiley X — Saber Advanced product page (ratings, frame measurements, warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
- U.S. Army — Effective Eye Protection Preserves Sight to Fight (APEL managed by PEO Soldier / MCEP; the APEL logo marks authorized eyewear) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Wikipedia — Ballistic eyewear (MIL-PRF-31013 0.15 cal T37 at 640–660 ft/s for spectacles; 0.22 cal at 550–560 ft/s for goggles; Z87 vs Z87+ marking) (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't own or wear-test these glasses and we don't pretend to. Ratings, lens systems, fit notes and coatings come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer or press page we label as such. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Read the full method.